Submagic Alternatives 2026: 5 Free Options

Submagic alternatives: CapCut, Clipchamp, Kapwing, Descript and 1 more. Prices and licenses checked October 24, 2026.

•3 min read•Video Editing & AI Video

Editorial illustration: Submagic Alternatives 2026: 5 Free Options

Verdict:Leave Submagic if its yearly Starter at $12 a month, with 45 credits for about 15 videos of up to two minutes, is more than your posting rate needs. We saw no free plan on its pricing page, only a free signup with no card and trial limits it does not state. Pro is $23 on yearly billing and Business $41. CapCut and Clipchamp are the simplest free swaps: both let you caption short clips in a full editor, and Clipchamp exports 1080p without a watermark on the free plan. Kapwing is useful when you want the whole edit in the browser and are fine with watermarked 720p exports on free. OpusClip adds animated caption templates, watermarked on free, and clips long videos. Descript suits spoken content you would rather edit as text. The trade-off is polish and speed. Submagic is built around fast animated captions for short vertical videos; a general editor will give you more control but take more steps per video. If you publish a few clips a week, a free editor is enough. If captions are the bottleneck for daily posting, keep the paid plan.

Quick comparison

ToolPricePlatformsBest forTested
CapCutFree (Free plan includes free templates and basic editing tools; the page gives no numeric limits); paid from $19.99 per month (Pro, monthly; $179.99 billed yearly)Desktop, Mobile, WebShort videos with free templatesDocs only
ClipchampFree (Free: export up to 1080p with no watermark; premium stock assets, premium filters and effects, and brand kit not included)Web, WindowsFree exports with no watermarkDocs only
KapwingFree (Free: 10 credits, watermarked exports, 720p, up to 4 minutes per video, 30 minutes of export a month, 2 GB uploads, 5 GB storage kept for 3 days); paid from $16 per month (Pro, 1,000 credits; the page has a monthly/annual toggle with 33% off annual but does not state which the $16 is)WebBrowser editor with a free tierDocs only
DescriptFree (60 media minutes a month, 720p export with a watermark, 100 one-time AI credits); paid from $16 per person/month, billed annually (Hobbyist; $24 billed monthly)Web, Windows, macOSEditing video as textDocs only
OpusClipFree (Free plan: exports up to 1080p, 3-day export limit, media kept 3 days, local uploads up to 10 GB per video, auto video import not included, animated caption templates with watermark); paid from $15 per month, billed monthly (Starter)WebClips from long videos with captionsDocs only
VEEDFree (Free plan available; see the pricing page for its limits)WebVideo editingDocs only

Independent comparison. Paid placements are labelled separately; editorial links earn no affiliate commissions. Learn more.

Good fit if

  • You want free captions in a full editor (CapCut is the pick)
  • You want a free 1080p export without a watermark (Clipchamp is the pick)
  • You cut clips from long videos (OpusClip is the pick)
  • You edit talk-heavy video from a transcript (Descript is the pick)
  • You work entirely in the browser (Kapwing is the pick)

Not ideal if

  • You rely on Submagic features or integrations that these tools do not replicate

Submagic today: Paid from $12 per member/month, billed yearly (Starter, 45 credits, 2 minute videos; $19 billed monthly) (Submagic pricing, checked 2026-10-22).

Why people look for Submagic alternatives

Submagic meters work in credits, and each video costs 3 credits. Starter gives 45 credits, so 15 videos of up to 2 minutes, at $19 monthly or $12 per month billed yearly. Pro is $39 or $23 with 120 credits and 5-minute videos, and Business is $69 or $41 with 300 credits and 30-minute videos. Longer videos therefore force a plan jump, and the page offers a try-for-free button without stating how long the trial lasts.

CapCut

Compared with Submagic: Free plan with basic editing tools and templates; Pro is $19.99 a month against Submagic's Starter at $12 on yearly billing. A general editor, so captions are one feature among many rather than the product.

Price: Free (Free plan includes free templates and basic editing tools; the page gives no numeric limits); paid from $19.99 per month (Pro, monthly; $179.99 billed yearly) (CapCut pricing, checked 2026-10-22).

Platforms and license: Desktop, Mobile, Web. Proprietary.

Best for: Short videos with free templates.

Clipchamp

Compared with Submagic: Free, 1080p export without a watermark. Premium assets come with Microsoft 365, and the caption styling is less specialised than Submagic's, but you pay nothing to try it.

Price: Free (Free: export up to 1080p with no watermark; premium stock assets, premium filters and effects, and brand kit not included) (Clipchamp pricing, checked 2026-10-23).

Platforms and license: Web, Windows. Proprietary.

Best for: Free exports with no watermark.

Kapwing

Compared with Submagic: Free plan with watermarked 720p exports up to 4 minutes; Pro is $16. A browser editor that covers captions plus the rest of the edit, with credits rather than Submagic's per-video allowances.

Price: Free (Free: 10 credits, watermarked exports, 720p, up to 4 minutes per video, 30 minutes of export a month, 2 GB uploads, 5 GB storage kept for 3 days); paid from $16 per month (Pro, 1,000 credits; the page has a monthly/annual toggle with 33% off annual but does not state which the $16 is) (Kapwing pricing, checked 2026-10-24).

Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.

Best for: Browser editor with a free tier.

Descript

Compared with Submagic: Free plan with 60 media minutes a month and watermarked 720p; Hobbyist is $16 on yearly billing. It edits video by editing a transcript, a different workflow from Submagic's caption-first one.

Price: Free (60 media minutes a month, 720p export with a watermark, 100 one-time AI credits); paid from $16 per person/month, billed annually (Hobbyist; $24 billed monthly) (Descript pricing, checked 2026-10-22).

Platforms and license: Web, Windows, macOS. Proprietary.

Best for: Editing video as text.

OpusClip

Compared with Submagic: Free plan exports up to 1080p and includes animated caption templates with a watermark; Starter is $15. It also cuts long videos into clips, which Submagic's plans meter separately.

Price: Free (Free plan: exports up to 1080p, 3-day export limit, media kept 3 days, local uploads up to 10 GB per video, auto video import not included, animated caption templates with watermark); paid from $15 per month, billed monthly (Starter) (OpusClip pricing, checked 2026-10-23).

Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.

Best for: Clips from long videos with captions.

VEED

Compared with Submagic: Full browser video editor with a free plan, where Submagic offers only a trial. Paid prices are not listed here, so confirm them on its site; Submagic Starter is $12 a month billed yearly for 15 two-minute videos.

Price: Free (Free plan available; see the pricing page for its limits) (VEED pricing, checked 2026-10-23).

Which one to pick

  • You want free captions in a full editor: CapCut
  • You want a free 1080p export without a watermark: Clipchamp
  • You cut clips from long videos: OpusClip
  • You edit talk-heavy video from a transcript: Descript
  • You work entirely in the browser: Kapwing

Limits of this review

Docs-only for CapCut, Clipchamp, Kapwing, Descript, OpusClip: we did not install or run them, so feature claims come from vendor pages and we did not test import from Submagic. Vendor prices and free limits change; confirm on the linked pricing page before you buy or migrate.

Related guides

More in Video Editing & AI Video

All Video Editing & AI Video alternatives →

Sources

Kevin Fan

Kevin Fan is a SaaS founder. He runs Free Instead Of, which tracks free and open-source alternatives to paid software and checks each price and free-plan limit against the vendor's own pages.

Methodology

Based on official pricing and product pages checked between 2026-10-22 and 2026-10-24: Submagic, CapCut, Clipchamp, Kapwing, Descript, OpusClip, VEED. Prices, free limits and licenses are the figures shown on those pages on those dates. No tool on this page was installed or run. No accounts were created.

Share: