Best free Background Removers compared: remove.bg, rembg, Pixlr, Picsart and 3 more, with free-plan limits, platforms and prices from official pages checked October 24, 2026.
•3 min read•Photo Editing & AI Images
| Tool | Price | Platforms | Best for | Tested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| remove.bg | Free (Free low-resolution previews (up to 0.25 megapixels) on the website, plus one bonus credit to test a high-resolution download) | Web | One-click cutouts to preview | Docs only |
| rembg | Free (Free open source Python tool with a command-line interface; no paid tier) | Windows, macOS, Linux | Batches and private images | Docs only |
| Pixlr | Free (Free tier is ad-supported with limited AI credits per search coverage) | Web | Cutout plus editing in one place | Docs only |
| Picsart | Free; paid from $10.5 per month, Pro, billed yearly | Web, iOS, Android, Windows | Phone-first editing | Docs only |
| Kapwing | Free (Free: 10 credits, watermarked exports, 720p, up to 4 minutes per video, 30 minutes of export a month, 2 GB uploads, 5 GB storage kept for 3 days); paid from $16 per month (Pro, 1,000 credits; the page has a monthly/annual toggle with 33% off annual but does not state which the $16 is) | Web | Removing backgrounds in video | Docs only |
| Photopea | Free (Free in the browser; the homepage says premium features are free and mentions no paid plan or ad-free option) | Web | Hand-finished cutouts | Docs only |
| GIMP | Free (Free; source tarballs offered, donation link only, no paid tier. Store packages are third-party and not from the GIMP team) | Linux, macOS, Windows | Control over every pixel | Docs only |
Independent comparison. Paid placements are labelled separately; editorial links earn no affiliate commissions. Learn more.
Images from the linked documentation. Versions and features may differ from current plans.

GIMP 3.0 — non-destructive filter workflow
GIMP team / gimp.org · Source · CC BY-SA 4.0
Background removers differ in what you give up for free: resolution, batch size, or the clean cutout itself. remove.bg is the best known and its website returns free low-resolution previews up to 0.25 megapixels, so it is fine for checking a result but not for a print file. rembg is a free MIT-licensed Python tool you run locally from the command line, which has no limits and no upload, though you need to be comfortable installing it. Pixlr and Picsart bundle the remover into a full photo editor with a free tier, so check each pricing page for current free-tier limits. Kapwing's free plan gives watermarked exports and a small credit allowance. Photopea and GIMP are image editors rather than one-click removers, so you cut the subject out yourself with selection tools, which costs minutes but is free of caps. If you have a handful of product photos, a web tool is quickest. If you have hundreds, a local script saves both time and credits. For anything with fine hair or transparent edges, expect to retouch the mask by hand whichever tool you use, and keep the original image so you can try a second tool.
Website gives free low-resolution previews up to 0.25 megapixels plus one bonus credit to test a high-resolution download. Check the pricing page for current paid plans.
Price: Free (Free low-resolution previews (up to 0.25 megapixels) on the website, plus one bonus credit to test a high-resolution download) (remove.bg pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: One-click cutouts to preview.
Compare: remove.bg alternatives
MIT-licensed free Python tool run locally from a command line, with no paid tier. No upload and no quota, but you need to install it yourself.
Price: Free (Free open source Python tool with a command-line interface; no paid tier) (rembg pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Windows, macOS, Linux. MIT (open source).
Project activity: 25.2k GitHub stars · latest release v2.0.86 (Oct 21, 2026) · last commit Oct 21, 2026
Best for: Batches and private images.
Browser photo editor with an ad-supported free tier and limited AI credits per search coverage; paid prices disagreed across sources so none is quoted.
Price: Free (Free tier is ad-supported with limited AI credits per search coverage) (Pixlr pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Cutout plus editing in one place.
Editor for web, iOS, Android and Windows; Pro costs $10.50 a month billed yearly. A free tier is described by third-party reviews only, so confirm its limits.
Price: Free; paid from $10.5 per month, Pro, billed yearly (Picsart pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Web, iOS, Android, Windows. Proprietary.
Best for: Phone-first editing.
Compare: Picsart alternatives
Free plan: 10 credits, watermarked exports, 720p, up to 4 minutes per video. Good if the subject is video as well as stills.
Price: Free (Free: 10 credits, watermarked exports, 720p, up to 4 minutes per video, 30 minutes of export a month, 2 GB uploads, 5 GB storage kept for 3 days); paid from $16 per month (Pro, 1,000 credits; the page has a monthly/annual toggle with 33% off annual but does not state which the $16 is) (Kapwing pricing, checked 2026-10-24).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Removing backgrounds in video.
Compare: Kapwing alternatives
Free in the browser with no paid plan mentioned on its homepage; reads PSD files. A manual editor, so you make the selection yourself.
Price: Free (Free in the browser; the homepage says premium features are free and mentions no paid plan or ad-free option) (Photopea pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Hand-finished cutouts.
Worth knowing: Browser-based editor that reads PSD files. Runs with no download.
Compare: Photopea alternatives
Free open-source raster editor for Linux, macOS and Windows with no paid tier. Manual selection tools only, but nothing is capped or watermarked.
Price: Free (Free; source tarballs offered, donation link only, no paid tier. Store packages are third-party and not from the GIMP team) (GIMP pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Linux, macOS, Windows. Open source (license not named on gimp.org/downloads) (open source).
Best for: Control over every pixel.
Worth knowing: Raster image editor for photo retouching and compositing.
Docs-only for remove.bg, rembg, Pixlr, Picsart, Kapwing, Photopea, GIMP: we did not install or run them, so feature claims come from vendor pages. Vendor prices and free limits change; confirm on the linked pricing page before you commit.
Kevin Fan is a SaaS founder. He runs Free Instead Of, which tracks free and open-source alternatives to paid software and checks each price and free-plan limit against the vendor's own pages.
Based on official pricing, license and product pages checked between 2026-10-22 and 2026-10-24: remove.bg, rembg, Pixlr, Picsart, Kapwing, Photopea, GIMP. Prices, free limits and licenses are the figures shown on those pages on those dates. No tool on this page was installed or run. No accounts were created.