Best free AI Video Generators compared: LTX-Video, Wan 2.1, Runway, Adobe Firefly and 2 more, with free-plan limits, platforms and prices from official pages checked October 25, 2026.
•3 min read•Video Editing & AI Video
| Tool | Price | Platforms | Best for | Tested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| LTX-Video | Free (Free to run on your own hardware; check each checkpoint license for commercial use) | Self-hosted (Python; CUDA, or MPS on macOS) | Hobbyists with a local GPU | Docs only |
| Wan 2.1 | Free (Free to run on your own hardware; the smallest T2V-1.3B model needs about 8.19GB VRAM) | Self-hosted (Python, NVIDIA GPU) | Users who want no usage cap | Docs only |
| Runway | Free (Free: 125 one-time credits that do not expire); paid from $12 per month, billed annually (Standard, 625 credits a month; $15 monthly) | Web | Trying prompts without installing anything | Docs only |
| Adobe Firefly | Free (Free plan with daily generations across image, video and audio; Adobe does not state a number on the page); paid from $9.99 per month, Standard (2,000 generative credits, monthly billing; Pro $19.99, Pro Plus $49.99, Premium $199.99) | Web | Adobe users testing short clips | Docs only |
| HeyGen | Free (3 videos a month, watermarked, up to 1 minute each, one custom video avatar, 500+ ready-made presenters); paid from $24 per month, Creator plan billed annually ($29 billed monthly) | Web | Short spokesperson videos | Docs only |
| Synthesia | Free (Basic: 500 credits a month, about 10 minutes of video creation or dubbing, watermark on videos); paid from $18 per month, Starter plan billed yearly ($29 billed monthly) | Web | Training and internal explainers | Docs only |
Independent comparison. Paid placements are labelled separately; editorial links earn no affiliate commissions. Learn more.
Free AI video generation comes in two kinds and they are not interchangeable. Hosted tools such as Runway and Adobe Firefly give you a small allowance of credits and a web page, so you can try a prompt in minutes but you will hit the limit after a handful of clips. HeyGen and Synthesia do something different: they build presenter videos from a script with an avatar, which is useful for training and explainers but not for cinematic shots. Open models such as LTX-Video and Wan have no credit meter at all, but you need a capable GPU, Python and patience with installation, and the checkpoint licences deserve a read before you use output commercially. If you only want to see what the technology can do, start with a hosted free plan and expect watermarks and short clips. If you plan to make videos regularly, work out the cost per clip honestly: a one-time credit grant that does not renew is a trial, not a free tool. The six options here show where each free tier ends, so you can decide whether to stay hosted, or invest an evening in running a model yourself.
Open video generation model, with the repository listed as Apache-2.0 but some checkpoints under OpenRAIL-M. Free to run locally, so the cost is GPU time and setup, and you must check each checkpoint licence for commercial use.
Price: Free (Free to run on your own hardware; check each checkpoint license for commercial use) (LTX-Video pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Self-hosted (Python; CUDA, or MPS on macOS). Apache-2.0 (repository); some checkpoints under OpenRAIL-M (open source).
Project activity: 11.2k GitHub stars · last commit Jan 5, 2026
Best for: Hobbyists with a local GPU.
Apache-2.0 models you run yourself; the smallest text-to-video model needs about 8.19 GB of VRAM. No credits or watermark from the vendor, but you handle installation and an NVIDIA GPU.
Price: Free (Free to run on your own hardware; the smallest T2V-1.3B model needs about 8.19GB VRAM) (Wan 2.1 pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Self-hosted (Python, NVIDIA GPU). Apache-2.0 (open source).
Project activity: 17.3k GitHub stars · last commit Mar 5, 2026
Best for: Users who want no usage cap.
Hosted generator with a free plan of 125 one-time credits that do not expire. That is a trial rather than a monthly allowance, and the Standard plan starts at $12 a month billed annually.
Price: Free (Free: 125 one-time credits that do not expire); paid from $12 per month, billed annually (Standard, 625 credits a month; $15 monthly) (Runway pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary SaaS.
Best for: Trying prompts without installing anything.
Adobe's free plan gives daily generations across image, video and audio, though the page states no number. Handy if you already use Adobe tools; paid credits are sold separately.
Price: Free (Free plan with daily generations across image, video and audio; Adobe does not state a number on the page); paid from $9.99 per month, Standard (2,000 generative credits, monthly billing; Pro $19.99, Pro Plus $49.99, Premium $199.99) (Adobe Firefly pricing, checked 2026-10-25).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Adobe users testing short clips.
Compare: Adobe Firefly alternatives
Avatar presenter videos from a script: the free plan allows 3 videos a month, up to a minute each, watermarked. It is not a cinematic generator, so use it for talking-head explainers.
Price: Free (3 videos a month, watermarked, up to 1 minute each, one custom video avatar, 500+ ready-made presenters); paid from $24 per month, Creator plan billed annually ($29 billed monthly) (HeyGen pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Short spokesperson videos.
Compare: HeyGen alternatives
Avatar-based videos from text with 500 free credits a month, about 10 minutes of creation, and a watermark. Better for training clips than for creative footage.
Price: Free (Basic: 500 credits a month, about 10 minutes of video creation or dubbing, watermark on videos); paid from $18 per month, Starter plan billed yearly ($29 billed monthly) (Synthesia pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Training and internal explainers.
Compare: Synthesia alternatives
Docs-only for LTX-Video, Wan 2.1, Runway, Adobe Firefly, HeyGen, Synthesia: we did not install or run them, so feature claims come from vendor pages. Vendor prices and free limits change; confirm on the linked pricing page before you commit.
Kevin Fan is a SaaS founder. He runs Free Instead Of, which tracks free and open-source alternatives to paid software and checks each price and free-plan limit against the vendor's own pages.
Based on official pricing, license and product pages checked between 2026-10-22 and 2026-10-25: LTX-Video, Wan 2.1, Runway, Adobe Firefly, HeyGen, Synthesia. Prices, free limits and licenses are the figures shown on those pages on those dates. No tool on this page was installed or run. No accounts were created.