Best free Video Editors compared: CapCut, Clipchamp, Kapwing, VEED and 4 more, with free-plan limits, platforms and prices from official pages checked October 28, 2026.
•4 min read•Video Editing & AI Video
| Tool | Price | Platforms | Best for | Tested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CapCut | Free (Free plan includes free templates and basic editing tools; the page gives no numeric limits); paid from $19.99 per month (Pro, monthly; $179.99 billed yearly) | Desktop, Mobile, Web | Short social videos | Docs only |
| Clipchamp | Free (Free: export up to 1080p with no watermark; premium stock assets, premium filters and effects, and brand kit not included) | Web, Windows | Simple edits without a watermark | Docs only |
| Kapwing | Free (Free: 10 credits, watermarked exports, 720p, up to 4 minutes per video, 30 minutes of export a month, 2 GB uploads, 5 GB storage kept for 3 days); paid from $16 per month (Pro, 1,000 credits; the page has a monthly/annual toggle with 33% off annual but does not state which the $16 is) | Web | Quick online edits | Docs only |
| VEED | Free (Free plan available; see the pricing page for its limits) | Web | Fast online edits with captions | Docs only |
| DaVinci Resolve | Free (Free version: 8-bit video up to Ultra HD 3840x2160 and 60fps, per the product page); paid from $236 per Studio licence (sale price on the product page; was $295) | Mac, Windows, Linux | Long projects and color grading | Docs only |
| Shotcut | Free | Desktop | Free desktop editing | Docs only |
| OpenShot | Free | Windows, macOS, Linux | Beginners on Windows, Mac or Linux | Docs only |
| iMovie | Free (Free on the App Store (iPhone, iPad)) | macOS, iPhone, iPad | Apple users | Docs only |
Independent comparison. Paid placements are labelled separately; editorial links earn no affiliate commissions. Learn more.
Free video editors split into online editors, desktop programs and phone apps, and the difference is mainly watermarks and export limits. Online editors such as Clipchamp, Kapwing and VEED run in a browser with nothing to install. Clipchamp's free plan exports up to 1080p without a watermark; Kapwing and VEED mark free exports and cap resolution at 720p. CapCut is free on desktop, mobile and web, with templates and effects, though the limits depend on its plan. Desktop programs like DaVinci Resolve, Shotcut and OpenShot never watermark your video, but you need a computer with enough memory and a few hours to learn them. Resolve's free version supports up to Ultra HD at 60 fps, and Shotcut and OpenShot are completely free and open source. iMovie covers Apple users. If you already have a project in mind, count the minutes of final video and the resolution you need, then compare with each tool's cap before you edit. For regular uploads, use a desktop editor. For a one-off clip, a browser editor saves the install, as long as you check what the exported file looks like before you share it.
Free on desktop, mobile and web with templates and basic editing tools; Pro costs $19.99 a month. The page gives no numeric limits, so test an export before relying on it.
Price: Free (Free plan includes free templates and basic editing tools; the page gives no numeric limits); paid from $19.99 per month (Pro, monthly; $179.99 billed yearly) (CapCut pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Desktop, Mobile, Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Short social videos.
Compare: CapCut alternatives
Browser and Windows editor with free exports up to 1080p and no watermark; premium stock, effects and brand kit are paid extras. Premium features are bundled with Microsoft 365.
Price: Free (Free: export up to 1080p with no watermark; premium stock assets, premium filters and effects, and brand kit not included) (Clipchamp pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Web, Windows. Proprietary.
Best for: Simple edits without a watermark.
Compare: Clipchamp alternatives
Browser editor with collaboration features. Free exports are 720p with a watermark; Pro is $16 a month. Good for quick jobs on any computer.
Price: Free (Free: 10 credits, watermarked exports, 720p, up to 4 minutes per video, 30 minutes of export a month, 2 GB uploads, 5 GB storage kept for 3 days); paid from $16 per month (Pro, 1,000 credits; the page has a monthly/annual toggle with 33% off annual but does not state which the $16 is) (Kapwing pricing, checked 2026-10-24).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Quick online edits.
Compare: Kapwing alternatives
Browser editor with a free plan and many AI tools. Check the pricing page for free-plan limits such as watermarks and export resolution.
Price: Free (Free plan available; see the pricing page for its limits) (VEED pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Fast online edits with captions.
Compare: VEED alternatives
Professional free editor with output up to Ultra HD at 60 fps in 8-bit. Heavy to install and learn, but never limited by watermarks in the free version.
Price: Free (Free version: 8-bit video up to Ultra HD 3840x2160 and 60fps, per the product page); paid from $236 per Studio licence (sale price on the product page; was $295) (DaVinci Resolve pricing, checked 2026-10-28).
Platforms and license: Mac, Windows, Linux. Proprietary (free version and Studio).
Best for: Long projects and color grading.
Compare: DaVinci Resolve alternatives
GPL-3.0 desktop editor with no paid version and a long filter list. Interface is functional rather than polished.
Price: Free (Shotcut pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Desktop. GPL-3.0 (open source).
Project activity: 15.5k GitHub stars · latest release v26.9.27 (Sep 28, 2026) · last commit Oct 27, 2026
Best for: Free desktop editing.
GPL-3.0-or-later desktop editor with no subscription, watermark or project limit, according to its site. The easiest of the open-source editors to start.
Price: Free (OpenShot pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Windows, macOS, Linux. GPL-3.0-or-later (open source).
Project activity: 6.7k GitHub stars · latest release v4.0.1 (Sep 27, 2026) · last commit Oct 27, 2026
Best for: Beginners on Windows, Mac or Linux.
Worth knowing: Stated on its site as free and open source with no subscriptions, watermarks or project limits; no paid version mentioned.
Free on iPhone and iPad per the App Store, and available on Mac. Keeps things simple with templates, titles and trailers.
Price: Free (Free on the App Store (iPhone, iPad)) (iMovie pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: macOS, iPhone, iPad. Proprietary.
Best for: Apple users.
Compare: iMovie alternatives
Docs-only for CapCut, Clipchamp, Kapwing, VEED, DaVinci Resolve, Shotcut, OpenShot, iMovie: we did not install or run them, so feature claims come from vendor pages. Vendor prices and free limits change; confirm on the linked pricing page before you commit.
Kevin Fan is a SaaS founder. He runs Free Instead Of, which tracks free and open-source alternatives to paid software and checks each price and free-plan limit against the vendor's own pages.
Based on official pricing, license and product pages checked between 2026-10-22 and 2026-10-28: CapCut, Clipchamp, Kapwing, VEED, DaVinci Resolve, Shotcut, OpenShot, iMovie. Prices, free limits and licenses are the figures shown on those pages on those dates. No tool on this page was installed or run. No accounts were created.