Best free Reel Makers compared: CapCut, Canva, Clipchamp, Kapwing and 2 more, with free-plan limits, platforms and prices from official pages checked October 24, 2026.
•3 min read•Video Editing & AI Video
| Tool | Price | Platforms | Best for | Tested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CapCut | Free (Free plan includes free templates and basic editing tools; the page gives no numeric limits); paid from $19.99 per month (Pro, monthly; $179.99 billed yearly) | Desktop, Mobile, Web | Trend-driven vertical clips | Docs only |
| Canva | Free (Free plan available; see the pricing page for its current limits) | Web, Windows, macOS, iOS, Android | Branded text-and-graphics reels | Docs only |
| Clipchamp | Free (Free: export up to 1080p with no watermark; premium stock assets, premium filters and effects, and brand kit not included) | Web, Windows | Clean exports at no cost | Docs only |
| Kapwing | Free (Free: 10 credits, watermarked exports, 720p, up to 4 minutes per video, 30 minutes of export a month, 2 GB uploads, 5 GB storage kept for 3 days); paid from $16 per month (Pro, 1,000 credits; the page has a monthly/annual toggle with 33% off annual but does not state which the $16 is) | Web | Resizing horizontal video to vertical | Docs only |
| VEED | Free (Free plan available; see the pricing page for its limits) | Web | Quick captioned clips | Docs only |
| OpusClip | Free (Free plan: exports up to 1080p, 3-day export limit, media kept 3 days, local uploads up to 10 GB per video, auto video import not included, animated caption templates with watermark); paid from $15 per month, billed monthly (Starter) | Web | Repurposing podcasts and webinars | Docs only |
Independent comparison. Paid placements are labelled separately; editorial links earn no affiliate commissions. Learn more.
Reels and Shorts are vertical clips, so the first thing to check is whether a tool crops to 9:16 well and keeps captions inside the safe area. Beyond that, the free options split into three kinds. CapCut is built around short vertical video, with templates, effects and auto features that suit trends, and many creators keep a phone version for posting. Canva and Clipchamp are better when the reel is mostly graphics, text and stock footage; Clipchamp's free plan exports up to 1080p without a watermark. Kapwing and VEED work in the browser and include subtitle and resizing tools, but their free plans mark exports with a watermark. Opus Clip does one specific job: it cuts a long video into short clips, which saves hours if you start from a podcast or webinar rather than shooting for the reel. The practical trade-off is watermarks versus templates. Tools with the best templates tend to watermark or lock effects, while the clean-export tools have fewer. Before you commit, post a draft export, not just look at the preview, to check resolution and any corner logo.
Templates and effects built for short vertical clips on mobile, desktop and web. Free plan covers basic tools; Pro is $19.99 a month and the page does not list watermark rules.
Price: Free (Free plan includes free templates and basic editing tools; the page gives no numeric limits); paid from $19.99 per month (Pro, monthly; $179.99 billed yearly) (CapCut pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Desktop, Mobile, Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Trend-driven vertical clips.
Compare: CapCut alternatives
Free plan with video templates, strongest when reels combine text, images and brand colours. Limits were not captured because the pricing page was blocked, so check export options.
Price: Free (Free plan available; see the pricing page for its current limits) (Canva pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web, Windows, macOS, iOS, Android. Proprietary.
Best for: Branded text-and-graphics reels.
Compare: Canva alternatives
Exports up to 1080p with no watermark on the free plan; premium stock and filters are excluded. Runs in a browser or as a Windows app.
Price: Free (Free: export up to 1080p with no watermark; premium stock assets, premium filters and effects, and brand kit not included) (Clipchamp pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Web, Windows. Proprietary.
Best for: Clean exports at no cost.
Compare: Clipchamp alternatives
Browser editor with resizing and caption tools; free exports are 720p and watermarked. Pro starts at $16 a month.
Price: Free (Free: 10 credits, watermarked exports, 720p, up to 4 minutes per video, 30 minutes of export a month, 2 GB uploads, 5 GB storage kept for 3 days); paid from $16 per month (Pro, 1,000 credits; the page has a monthly/annual toggle with 33% off annual but does not state which the $16 is) (Kapwing pricing, checked 2026-10-24).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Resizing horizontal video to vertical.
Compare: Kapwing alternatives
Browser editor with a free plan; the pricing page lists no limits, though third-party sites cite a watermark and 720p. Verify before relying on it.
Price: Free (Free plan available; see the pricing page for its limits) (VEED pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Quick captioned clips.
Compare: VEED alternatives
Turns long videos into short clips. Free plan exports up to 1080p, keeps media for 3 days, and watermarks animated caption templates. Starter is $15 a month.
Price: Free (Free plan: exports up to 1080p, 3-day export limit, media kept 3 days, local uploads up to 10 GB per video, auto video import not included, animated caption templates with watermark); paid from $15 per month, billed monthly (Starter) (OpusClip pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Repurposing podcasts and webinars.
Compare: OpusClip alternatives
Docs-only for CapCut, Canva, Clipchamp, Kapwing, VEED, OpusClip: we did not install or run them, so feature claims come from vendor pages. Vendor prices and free limits change; confirm on the linked pricing page before you commit.
Kevin Fan is a SaaS founder. He runs Free Instead Of, which tracks free and open-source alternatives to paid software and checks each price and free-plan limit against the vendor's own pages.
Based on official pricing, license and product pages checked between 2026-10-22 and 2026-10-24: CapCut, Canva, Clipchamp, Kapwing, VEED, OpusClip. Prices, free limits and licenses are the figures shown on those pages on those dates. No tool on this page was installed or run. No accounts were created.