Best free Intro Makers compared: Canva, Clipchamp, CapCut, Kapwing and 2 more, with free-plan limits, platforms and prices from official pages checked October 24, 2026.
•3 min read•Video Editing & AI Video
| Tool | Price | Platforms | Best for | Tested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canva | Free (Free plan available; see the pricing page for its current limits) | Web, Windows, macOS, iOS, Android | Template-based logo intros | Docs only |
| Clipchamp | Free (Free: export up to 1080p with no watermark; premium stock assets, premium filters and effects, and brand kit not included) | Web, Windows | Clean watermark-free exports | Docs only |
| CapCut | Free (Free plan includes free templates and basic editing tools; the page gives no numeric limits); paid from $19.99 per month (Pro, monthly; $179.99 billed yearly) | Desktop, Mobile, Web | Phone-first creators | Docs only |
| Kapwing | Free (Free: 10 credits, watermarked exports, 720p, up to 4 minutes per video, 30 minutes of export a month, 2 GB uploads, 5 GB storage kept for 3 days); paid from $16 per month (Pro, 1,000 credits; the page has a monthly/annual toggle with 33% off annual but does not state which the $16 is) | Web | Quick browser builds | Docs only |
| Animaker | Free (Free plan with animation tools, a limited selection of premium assets and watermarked exports; no numeric limits on the page) | Web | Animated character intros | Docs only |
| Powtoon | Free (Free: 720p video, up to 3 minutes per video, screen recording, Powtoon watermark, basic templates and characters, 100 MB storage); paid from $15 per month, billed yearly (Lite, 300 AI credits a year) | Web | Explainer-style openings | Docs only |
Independent comparison. Paid placements are labelled separately; editorial links earn no affiliate commissions. Learn more.
An intro is a few seconds of title and logo, so the real question is whether you need a template or a timeline. Template tools such as Canva, Clipchamp and Animaker give you a finished animated opening where you swap the name and colours; you can have an intro in ten minutes without learning an editor. CapCut and Kapwing are closer to full editors: you can build the same title animation yourself, add your own music and reuse the project for every new video. Powtoon fits when the intro is an animated character or scene rather than a logo reveal. The trade-off to check on every free plan is the watermark. Several of these tools mark exports on the free tier, and a visible watermark on a channel intro defeats the purpose, so export a test before you design anything elaborate. Clipchamp stands out because its free plan exports up to 1080p without a watermark, while premium stock and effects stay paid. Keep the intro short, under five seconds for most uses, and save the project file so you can change the text later without starting again.
Has a free plan with ready-made video templates you can customise with your name and logo. The pricing page was not readable when checked, so confirm which templates and exports are free before designing around one.
Price: Free (Free plan available; see the pricing page for its current limits) (Canva pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web, Windows, macOS, iOS, Android. Proprietary.
Best for: Template-based logo intros.
Compare: Canva alternatives
Free exports up to 1080p with no watermark; premium stock, filters and brand kit are not included. Works in the browser and as a Windows app, so a plain title intro costs nothing.
Price: Free (Free: export up to 1080p with no watermark; premium stock assets, premium filters and effects, and brand kit not included) (Clipchamp pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Web, Windows. Proprietary.
Best for: Clean watermark-free exports.
Compare: Clipchamp alternatives
Free plan with templates and basic editing tools on desktop, mobile and web. Pro is $19.99 a month, and some exports may be limited, so test one.
Price: Free (Free plan includes free templates and basic editing tools; the page gives no numeric limits); paid from $19.99 per month (Pro, monthly; $179.99 billed yearly) (CapCut pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Desktop, Mobile, Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Phone-first creators.
Compare: CapCut alternatives
Browser editor whose free plan exports at 720p with a watermark. Good for a quick title animation, but you need a paid plan to remove the mark.
Price: Free (Free: 10 credits, watermarked exports, 720p, up to 4 minutes per video, 30 minutes of export a month, 2 GB uploads, 5 GB storage kept for 3 days); paid from $16 per month (Pro, 1,000 credits; the page has a monthly/annual toggle with 33% off annual but does not state which the $16 is) (Kapwing pricing, checked 2026-10-24).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Quick browser builds.
Compare: Kapwing alternatives
Free plan includes animation tools and some premium assets; exports are watermarked. Useful when the intro should be a character or scene rather than a logo.
Price: Free (Free plan with animation tools, a limited selection of premium assets and watermarked exports; no numeric limits on the page) (Animaker pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Animated character intros.
Free plan gives 720p videos up to 3 minutes with a watermark and basic templates. Overkill for a five-second intro but handy if you also make explainers.
Price: Free (Free: 720p video, up to 3 minutes per video, screen recording, Powtoon watermark, basic templates and characters, 100 MB storage); paid from $15 per month, billed yearly (Lite, 300 AI credits a year) (Powtoon pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Explainer-style openings.
Docs-only for Canva, Clipchamp, CapCut, Kapwing, Animaker, Powtoon: we did not install or run them, so feature claims come from vendor pages. Vendor prices and free limits change; confirm on the linked pricing page before you commit.
Kevin Fan is a SaaS founder. He runs Free Instead Of, which tracks free and open-source alternatives to paid software and checks each price and free-plan limit against the vendor's own pages.
Based on official pricing, license and product pages checked between 2026-10-22 and 2026-10-24: Canva, Clipchamp, CapCut, Kapwing, Animaker, Powtoon. Prices, free limits and licenses are the figures shown on those pages on those dates. No tool on this page was installed or run. No accounts were created.