NetSuite alternatives: ERPNext, Odoo, Zoho Books, QuickBooks Online and 2 more. Prices and licenses checked October 25, 2026.
•3 min read•Accounting & Payments
Verdict:NetSuite publishes no price figures. Its own pages describe an annual license built from the core platform, optional modules and a user count, plus a one-time implementation fee, and the pricing is quoted by sales. That structure is the main reason small companies look elsewhere: you pay for an ERP before you know the total. Which alternative fits depends on what you actually use. If you use NetSuite mainly as a general ledger, Zoho Books, QuickBooks and Xero publish prices, and Zoho Books and QuickBooks have free plans with limits. If you need inventory, orders and finance in one system, ERPNext and Odoo are the realistic open-source options: ERPNext is GPL-3.0 and free to self-host, and Odoo Online has a free single-app plan. The trade-off is effort. NetSuite's vendor runs the system and migrates your customizations on its contract, while with ERPNext you carry hosting, upgrades and backups, and a partner may still be needed for implementation. Before leaving, export your chart of accounts and open balances, and list every NetSuite module and saved search you depend on, because accounting tools will drop most of them.
| Tool | Price | Platforms | Best for | Tested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ERPNext | Free (Free to self-host; Frappe Cloud is the managed option) | Web, Self-hosted | Teams that can run open-source ERP | Docs only |
| Odoo | Free (One App Free plan on Odoo Online, unlimited users) | Web browser, Self-hosted | Teams wanting modular ERP apps | Docs only |
| Zoho Books | Free (Free plan while annual revenue stays under $50K: 1 user plus 1 accountant and up to 1,000 invoices a year); paid from $15 per organization/month, billed annually (Standard; $20 billed monthly) | Web, iOS, Android | Small businesses needing accounting only | Docs only |
| QuickBooks Online | Free (Free plan listed at $0 per month, no credit card required); paid from $38 per month (Simple Start, list price; page shows 50% off for 3 months) | Web, iOS, Android | Small businesses leaving ERP for bookkeeping | Docs only |
| Xero | Paid from $27 per month (Early plan, no per-user license fees) | Web, iOS, Android | Small firms wanting unlimited users | Docs only |
| Manager | Free (Desktop edition with no time or usage limits but single-user) | Windows, macOS, Linux | Solo operators wanting free desktop accounting | Docs only |
| Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central | Paid from $80 per user/month, billed yearly (Essentials; Premium is $110) | Web | ERP and accounting | Docs only |
| Acumatica | See pricing page | Web | ERP | Docs only |
Independent comparison. Paid placements are labelled separately; editorial links earn no affiliate commissions. Learn more.
NetSuite today: See pricing page (NetSuite pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
NetSuite publishes no price list. Its own pages describe an annual licence built from the core platform, optional modules and the number of users, plus a one-time implementation fee. Each added module or user changes the total, so the cost is hard to cap before you sign.
Compared with NetSuite: ERPNext is GPL-3.0 with accounting and free to self-host, with Frappe Cloud as a managed route. NetSuite is a vendor-run suite sold on annual contracts; ERPNext saves the license but makes hosting, upgrades and backups your job.
Price: Free (Free to self-host; Frappe Cloud is the managed option) (ERPNext pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web, Self-hosted. GPL-3.0 (open source).
Project activity: 40.7k GitHub stars · latest release v15.124.1 (Oct 22, 2026) · last commit Oct 27, 2026
Best for: Teams that can run open-source ERP.
Worth knowing: Its Accounting module covers recording transactions through financial reporting. Running it yourself means handling hosting, upgrades and backups.
Compared with NetSuite: Odoo Online has a One App Free plan with unlimited users, and the Community edition is LGPL-3.0. The paid price was ambiguous on its page. Against NetSuite you get modular apps, but you assemble and configure them yourself.
Price: Free (One App Free plan on Odoo Online, unlimited users) (Odoo pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web browser, Self-hosted. LGPL-3.0 (Community edition) (open source).
Project activity: 55.4k GitHub stars · last commit Oct 28, 2026
Best for: Teams wanting modular ERP apps.
Compared with NetSuite: Zoho Books has a free plan while annual revenue stays under $50K, with 1,000 invoices a year, and Standard is $15 a month billed annually. It is accounting only, so it replaces NetSuite's ledger but not its inventory or order management.
Price: Free (Free plan while annual revenue stays under $50K: 1 user plus 1 accountant and up to 1,000 invoices a year); paid from $15 per organization/month, billed annually (Standard; $20 billed monthly) (Zoho Books pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web, iOS, Android. Proprietary.
Best for: Small businesses needing accounting only.
Compared with NetSuite: QuickBooks lists a Free plan, and Simple Start at $38 a month list price. NetSuite's core platform covers inventory and order management; QuickBooks covers bookkeeping, and its higher tiers add some inventory features.
Price: Free (Free plan listed at $0 per month, no credit card required); paid from $38 per month (Simple Start, list price; page shows 50% off for 3 months) (QuickBooks Online pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web, iOS, Android. Proprietary SaaS.
Best for: Small businesses leaving ERP for bookkeeping.
Compared with NetSuite: Xero starts at $27 a month for the Early plan with no per-user license fees. Compared with NetSuite it is much simpler accounting software, with no free plan and fewer ERP functions built in.
Price: Paid from $27 per month (Early plan, no per-user license fees) (Xero pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web, iOS, Android. Proprietary.
Best for: Small firms wanting unlimited users.
Compared with NetSuite: Manager's desktop edition has no time or usage limits but is single-user, and its license is not stated on the download page. It handles accounting without NetSuite's modules; multi-user needs the cloud edition, whose price we did not find.
Price: Free (Desktop edition with no time or usage limits but single-user) (Manager pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Windows, macOS, Linux. License not stated on the download page.
Best for: Solo operators wanting free desktop accounting.
Compared with NetSuite: Essentials is $80 per user per month billed yearly and Premium $110, with a 30-day trial. Per-user prices are published, unlike NetSuite, where no price figures are listed.
Price: Paid from $80 per user/month, billed yearly (Essentials; Premium is $110) (Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Compared with NetSuite: Pricing is custom and driven mainly by which applications you implement, not user seats; the page promotes unlimited users and publishes no number. A different cost model from NetSuite's per-user licence.
Price: See pricing page (Acumatica pricing, checked 2026-10-25).
Docs-only for ERPNext, Odoo, Zoho Books, QuickBooks Online, Xero, Manager: we did not install or run them, so feature claims come from vendor pages and we did not test import from NetSuite. Vendor prices and free limits change; confirm on the linked pricing page before you buy or migrate.
Kevin Fan is a SaaS founder. He runs Free Instead Of, which tracks free and open-source alternatives to paid software and checks each price and free-plan limit against the vendor's own pages.
Based on official pricing and product pages checked between 2026-10-22 and 2026-10-25: NetSuite, ERPNext, Odoo, Zoho Books, QuickBooks Online, Xero, Manager, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central, Acumatica. Prices, free limits and licenses are the figures shown on those pages on those dates. No tool on this page was installed or run. No accounts were created.