Jenkins alternatives: Woodpecker CI, Concourse CI, GitLab, GitHub Actions and 1 more. Prices and licenses checked October 25, 2026.
•3 min read•DevOps & Virtualization
Verdict:Jenkins itself costs nothing and is MIT licensed, so you leave it when the cost is the time spent keeping the server and plugins running. Check first whether you rely on custom plugins that have no equivalent elsewhere; if you do, a migration will take longer than the page suggests. Woodpecker is the lightest self-hosted swap under Apache-2.0, with YAML pipelines and a container per step, and it suits a small team on Docker. Concourse is the better choice when your pipelines are graph-shaped and you want every job isolated, but it asks for more ops work than Jenkins' single controller. GitLab CI and GitHub Actions remove the server altogether, at the price of moving your code to their platform. GitLab's Free tier gives 400 compute minutes a month and Premium is $29 per user; GitHub Actions is free for public repos. Buildkite splits the difference: you keep your own build machines while the control plane stays hosted, and the free plan covers five users. Pick GitLab or GitHub Actions for a single login, Woodpecker or Concourse to stay self-hosted and free, and Buildkite when your build machines must stay in your own network.
| Tool | Price | Platforms | Best for | Tested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Woodpecker CI | Free | Self-hosted (Linux, Docker) | Small teams already on Docker | Docs only |
| Concourse CI | Free | Self-hosted (Linux) | Complex, container-based pipelines | Docs only |
| GitLab | Free (Free: up to 5 users per top-level private group, 400 compute minutes per month, 10 GiB storage per project); paid from $29 per user/month, billed annually (Premium) | Web, Self-hosted server | Teams that want one platform for code and CI | Docs only |
| GitHub Actions | Free (Free for public repositories per the features page; private-repo minutes depend on plan and are not stated on that page) | GitHub-hosted runners, Self-hosted runners | Projects already hosted on GitHub | Docs only |
| Buildkite | Free (Free plan: up to 5 users, 10 concurrent jobs, 2,000 Linux vCPU minutes per month (Small hosted agents), 30-day build retention, community support); paid from $30 per active user/month (Pro) | Hosted control plane, Self-hosted agents | Hosted coordination with your own build boxes | Docs only |
| CircleCI | Free (Free plan: 30,000 credits per month and up to 5 active users); paid from $15 per month (Performance plan, starting price) | Cloud, Self-hosted | CI/CD | Docs only |
| Azure DevOps | Free (Basic plan: first 5 users free; 1 free Microsoft-hosted parallel job with 1,800 minutes a month; 2 GiB artifacts storage); paid from $6 per additional Basic user/month | Web browser | Developer Tools | Docs only |
Independent comparison. Paid placements are labelled separately; editorial links earn no affiliate commissions. Learn more.
Jenkins today: Free (Jenkins pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Jenkins is free and MIT-licensed, but it is self-hosted and its functionality comes from plugins. Removing a plugin that others depend on can stop the controller from booting. The Update Center offers only a plugin's latest release, older versions need a manual .hpi install, and manual installs or updates take effect only after a restart. Uninstalled or disabled plugins leave configuration behind that causes boot warnings. Someone has to own that upkeep.
Compared with Jenkins: Apache-2.0 CI where each step runs in a container and pipelines are YAML. Far fewer plugins to babysit than Jenkins, but a smaller ecosystem of ready-made integrations.
Price: Free (Woodpecker CI pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Self-hosted (Linux, Docker). Apache-2.0 (open source).
Project activity: 8.1k GitHub stars · latest release v3.19.0 (Oct 7, 2026) · last commit Oct 27, 2026
Best for: Small teams already on Docker.
Worth knowing: Self-hosted continuous integration tool that began as a fork of Drone. Free under Apache-2.0; the repo states the docs are CC BY-SA 4.0.
Compared with Jenkins: Apache-2.0 pipelines where every job runs in a container. Strong for complex pipeline graphs; the self-hosted setup asks for more operations work than Jenkins' single server.
Price: Free (Concourse CI pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Self-hosted (Linux). Apache-2.0 (open source).
Project activity: 7.9k GitHub stars · latest release v8.3.2 (Oct 23, 2026) · last commit Oct 27, 2026
Best for: Complex, container-based pipelines.
Worth knowing: Pipeline CI where every job runs in a container. Apache-2.0; you run the web and worker nodes yourself.
Compared with Jenkins: Bundles repos, issues and CI. The Free tier includes 400 compute minutes per month and up to 5 users in a private group; Premium is $29 per user per month, billed annually.
Price: Free (Free: up to 5 users per top-level private group, 400 compute minutes per month, 10 GiB storage per project); paid from $29 per user/month, billed annually (Premium) (GitLab pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Web, Self-hosted server. Open core (Community Edition plus proprietary paid tiers).
Best for: Teams that want one platform for code and CI.
Compared with Jenkins: Free for public repositories, with private minutes depending on plan. Less to host than Jenkins, but you depend on GitHub and cannot run your Jenkins plugins.
Price: Free (Free for public repositories per the features page; private-repo minutes depend on plan and are not stated on that page) (GitHub Actions pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: GitHub-hosted runners, Self-hosted runners. Proprietary hosted service; the runner agent is MIT.
Best for: Projects already hosted on GitHub.
Compared with Jenkins: Hosted control plane with agents you run on your own machines. The free plan covers 5 users and 2,000 Linux vCPU minutes a month; Pro is $30 per active user.
Price: Free (Free plan: up to 5 users, 10 concurrent jobs, 2,000 Linux vCPU minutes per month (Small hosted agents), 30-day build retention, community support); paid from $30 per active user/month (Pro) (Buildkite pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Hosted control plane, Self-hosted agents. Proprietary SaaS.
Best for: Hosted coordination with your own build boxes.
Compared with Jenkins: Free plan includes 30,000 credits a month and up to 5 active users; Performance starts at $15 a month. Jenkins costs nothing to license, so the trade is a credit bill instead of maintaining a controller.
Price: Free (Free plan: 30,000 credits per month and up to 5 active users); paid from $15 per month (Performance plan, starting price) (CircleCI pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Compared with Jenkins: Basic plan includes the first 5 users free, then $6 per user per month. One free Microsoft-hosted parallel job gives 1,800 minutes a month; an extra hosted job is $40 a month.
Price: Free (Basic plan: first 5 users free; 1 free Microsoft-hosted parallel job with 1,800 minutes a month; 2 GiB artifacts storage); paid from $6 per additional Basic user/month (Azure DevOps pricing, checked 2026-10-25).
Docs-only for Woodpecker CI, Concourse CI, GitLab, GitHub Actions, Buildkite: we did not install or run them, so feature claims come from vendor pages and we did not test import from Jenkins. Vendor prices and free limits change; confirm on the linked pricing page before you buy or migrate.
Kevin Fan is a SaaS founder. He runs Free Instead Of, which tracks free and open-source alternatives to paid software and checks each price and free-plan limit against the vendor's own pages.
Based on official pricing and product pages checked between 2026-10-22 and 2026-10-25: Jenkins, Woodpecker CI, Concourse CI, GitLab, GitHub Actions, Buildkite, CircleCI, Azure DevOps. Prices, free limits and licenses are the figures shown on those pages on those dates. No tool on this page was installed or run. No accounts were created.