CircleCI alternatives: GitHub Actions, GitLab, Woodpecker CI, Jenkins and 2 more. Prices and licenses checked October 25, 2026.
•3 min read•DevOps & Virtualization
Verdict:Leave CircleCI if credit-based billing makes costs hard to predict, or if you would rather keep CI next to your repository host. CircleCI's page lists a free plan with 30,000 credits a month and up to 5 active users, and the Performance plan from $15 a month. GitHub Actions is the obvious first test if your code lives on GitHub: workflows sit in the repo and public projects run free. GitLab does the same job for GitLab users. Woodpecker CI and Concourse are free to self-host and fit teams that already operate their own servers and want container-first pipelines. Jenkins is the oldest option and the most configurable, but expect to spend time on plugin updates and security. Buildkite sits in the middle, with a managed control plane and agents on your own hardware, which helps when builds need special machines. The main trade-off is operations: moving off a hosted service usually means you own uptime, scaling and secrets. Config also does not port directly, so budget time to rewrite pipelines. If your bill is small and builds are fast, CircleCI may not be worth leaving. If you are already on GitHub, trial Actions on one repo.
| Tool | Price | Platforms | Best for | Tested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GitHub Actions | Free (Free for public repositories per the features page; private-repo minutes depend on plan and are not stated on that page) | GitHub-hosted runners, Self-hosted runners | Teams already hosted on GitHub | Docs only |
| GitLab | Free (Free: up to 5 users per top-level private group, 400 compute minutes per month, 10 GiB storage per project); paid from $29 per user/month, billed annually (Premium) | Web, Self-hosted server | One platform for code and CI | Docs only |
| Woodpecker CI | Free | Self-hosted (Linux, Docker) | Self-hosted CI on a budget | Docs only |
| Jenkins | Free | Self-hosted (Java, any OS with a JDK) | Maximum flexibility on your own servers | Docs only |
| Buildkite | Free (Free plan: up to 5 users, 10 concurrent jobs, 2,000 Linux vCPU minutes per month (Small hosted agents), 30-day build retention, community support); paid from $30 per active user/month (Pro) | Hosted control plane, Self-hosted agents | Hybrid CI with your own agents | Docs only |
| Concourse CI | Free | Self-hosted (Linux) | Declarative pipelines you control | Docs only |
| Semaphore | Free ($15 in free credits each month, about 2,000 Ubuntu x64 2-vCPU minutes; 20 concurrent jobs by default) | Web browser | CI/CD | Docs only |
Independent comparison. Paid placements are labelled separately; editorial links earn no affiliate commissions. Learn more.
CircleCI today: Free (Free plan: 30,000 credits per month and up to 5 active users); paid from $15 per month (Performance plan, starting price) (CircleCI pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
CircleCI bills in credits, so cost depends on machine size and minutes: Linux Medium uses 10 credits per minute, and the 30,000 free monthly credits expire instead of rolling over. Docker layer caching costs 200 credits per job run, and network and storage overage is 420 credits per GB. On the free plan large Linux, Windows and macOS resources and GPUs are mostly unavailable and macOS is limited to one concurrent job. Free support is community only, and SSO needs the custom-priced Scale plan.
Compared with CircleCI: Free for public repositories and built into GitHub, so there is no separate vendor. You lose some CircleCI-specific features like its orb ecosystem, and private-repo minutes depend on your GitHub plan.
Price: Free (Free for public repositories per the features page; private-repo minutes depend on plan and are not stated on that page) (GitHub Actions pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: GitHub-hosted runners, Self-hosted runners. Proprietary hosted service; the runner agent is MIT.
Best for: Teams already hosted on GitHub.
Compared with CircleCI: Has a free tier with CI/CD built into the same platform as your repos. Compared with CircleCI you gain one tool for code and pipelines, but you take on GitLab's broader platform.
Price: Free (Free: up to 5 users per top-level private group, 400 compute minutes per month, 10 GiB storage per project); paid from $29 per user/month, billed annually (Premium) (GitLab pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Web, Self-hosted server. Open core (Community Edition plus proprietary paid tiers).
Best for: One platform for code and CI.
Compared with CircleCI: Apache-2.0 and self-hosted, with pipelines defined in your repo. You give up CircleCI's managed infrastructure and support, and gain cost control on your own machines.
Price: Free (Woodpecker CI pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Self-hosted (Linux, Docker). Apache-2.0 (open source).
Project activity: 8.1k GitHub stars · latest release v3.19.0 (Oct 7, 2026) · last commit Oct 27, 2026
Best for: Self-hosted CI on a budget.
Worth knowing: Self-hosted continuous integration tool that began as a fork of Drone. Free under Apache-2.0; the repo states the docs are CC BY-SA 4.0.
Compared with CircleCI: MIT-licensed and free, with a very large plugin set. You run and patch it yourself, which CircleCI's cloud spares you, but you pay nothing per credit.
Price: Free (Jenkins pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Self-hosted (Java, any OS with a JDK). MIT (open source).
Project activity: 26.7k GitHub stars · latest release jenkins-2.587 (Oct 20, 2026) · last commit Oct 27, 2026
Best for: Maximum flexibility on your own servers.
Worth knowing: Free and self-hosted. The repo LICENSE.txt is MIT. Plugin ecosystem is the main maintenance cost.
Compared with CircleCI: Free tier covers 5 users and 2,000 Linux vCPU minutes a month, with builds on agents you run. You manage the runners but keep code on your own hardware.
Price: Free (Free plan: up to 5 users, 10 concurrent jobs, 2,000 Linux vCPU minutes per month (Small hosted agents), 30-day build retention, community support); paid from $30 per active user/month (Pro) (Buildkite pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Hosted control plane, Self-hosted agents. Proprietary SaaS.
Best for: Hybrid CI with your own agents.
Compared with CircleCI: Apache-2.0 container-based CI built around declarative pipelines. A steeper learning curve and a smaller community than CircleCI, though it is entirely free to self-host.
Price: Free (Concourse CI pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Self-hosted (Linux). Apache-2.0 (open source).
Project activity: 7.9k GitHub stars · latest release v8.3.2 (Oct 23, 2026) · last commit Oct 27, 2026
Best for: Declarative pipelines you control.
Worth knowing: Pipeline CI where every job runs in a container. Apache-2.0; you run the web and worker nodes yourself.
Compared with CircleCI: Pay-as-you-go per minute: Ubuntu x64 2 vCPU is $0.0075, macOS is $0.09, with $15 free credit monthly and 20 concurrent jobs by default. Pricing is stated in dollars per minute rather than CircleCI credits.
Price: Free ($15 in free credits each month, about 2,000 Ubuntu x64 2-vCPU minutes; 20 concurrent jobs by default) (Semaphore pricing, checked 2026-10-25).
Docs-only for GitHub Actions, GitLab, Woodpecker CI, Jenkins, Buildkite, Concourse CI: we did not install or run them, so feature claims come from vendor pages and we did not test import from CircleCI. Vendor prices and free limits change; confirm on the linked pricing page before you buy or migrate.
Kevin Fan is a SaaS founder. He runs Free Instead Of, which tracks free and open-source alternatives to paid software and checks each price and free-plan limit against the vendor's own pages.
Based on official pricing and product pages checked between 2026-10-22 and 2026-10-25: CircleCI, GitHub Actions, GitLab, Woodpecker CI, Jenkins, Buildkite, Concourse CI, Semaphore. Prices, free limits and licenses are the figures shown on those pages on those dates. No tool on this page was installed or run. No accounts were created.