Docusign alternatives for small business: SignWell, Dropbox Sign, Documenso, DocuSeal and OpenSign compared on yearly cost, document limits and seats.
•4 min read•Legal, Contracts & E-signature
Verdict:For one to five senders, SignWell's Light plan ($10 a month billed yearly, unlimited documents) or Dropbox Sign Essentials ($120.60 a year) undercut Docusign Standard's $360; Documenso and DocuSeal suit owners who want open source or self-hosting.
| Tool | Price | Platforms | Best for | Tested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SignWell | Free for 3 documents a month; Light $10 a month billed yearly | Web browser | One to three senders who want unlimited documents at a low flat price | Docs only |
| Dropbox Sign | Essentials $10.05 a month billed yearly; Standard $17.50 per user a month billed yearly | Web browser, iOS, Android | A solo owner or a two-person team who wants a familiar hosted product with a 30-day trial | Docs only |
| Documenso | Free for 5 documents a month; Individual $25 a month or $300 a year; Teams $40 a month | Web browser, Self-hosted | Owners who want an open-source signer with a hosted plan or the option to self-host later | Docs only |
| DocuSeal | Cloud free for 10 signature request emails a month; Pro $20 per user a month; self-hosted edition free | Web browser, Self-hosted | A free self-hosted edition for owners who can run their own server | Docs only |
| OpenSign | Free plan advertised with unlimited e-signatures | Web browser | Very low volume or budget where multi-person signing and completion certificates are enough | Docs only |
Independent comparison. Paid placements are labelled separately; editorial links earn no affiliate commissions. Learn more.
For a small team that sends a few contracts a week, SignWell and Dropbox Sign are the lowest-effort hosted swaps, and both cost less per year than Docusign Standard. Documenso and DocuSeal are the open-source choices if you want to self-host. OpenSign advertises a free plan with unlimited signatures. The deciding numbers are envelope caps and seats, not feature lists.
Docusign's pricing page lists three plans. Personal is $11 a month on a $132 annual commitment and 5 envelopes a month, with no custom branding. Standard is $30 per user per month ($360 annual commitment) and Business Pro is $45 ($540). Both get 100 envelopes per user per year. Bulk send, payment collection and web forms are Business Pro only.
Those numbers shape the five criteria:
Seats are a real source of confusion. In a March 2025 Docusign Community thread, an asker wanted to know whether Business Pro's $480 is per user or per company; a Docusign employee answered that pricing is per user, with up to 50 users on Business Pro.
SignWell is a hosted e-signature tool priced by sender, not by signer. According to its pricing page, the Free plan allows 3 documents a month with 1 sender and 1 template. Light is $10 a month billed yearly ($12 monthly) with unlimited documents, 1 sender and 5 templates per sender. Business is $30 billed yearly ($36 monthly) with 3 senders and unlimited templates.
Light costs about $120 a year against $360 for one Docusign Standard seat, and it has no envelope cap. The page also lists extra senders as an add-on. Not for you if you need more than 3 senders without paying for extra seats.
Dropbox Sign is a hosted e-signature product. According to its pricing page, Essentials for one user is $10.05 a month billed yearly ($120.60) or $15 monthly. Standard is $17.50 per user per month billed yearly ($25 monthly) for teams of 2 or more. The trial is 30 days, and recipients who only sign need no account.
The page links to a free plan but states no limits for it, so confirm the document cap for your plan before committing. Not for you if you need published limits to compare; the page gives none.
Documenso is an open-source signing platform with a hosted version. Its pricing page lists a Free plan with 5 documents a month and up to 10 recipients per document. Individual is $25 a month or $300 billed yearly with unlimited documents. Teams is $40 a month ($480 yearly) with 5 users included and extra users at $8 a month.
At $300 a year, Individual is close to Docusign Standard's $360 for one user, but has no envelope cap. The pricing page does not name the licence; the project's repository lists AGPL-3.0. Not for you if your only goal is the lowest price; SignWell or Dropbox Sign are cheaper for one sender.
DocuSeal is an open-source signing tool with a hosted version. According to its pricing page, cloud Basic is free with 10 signature request emails a month, and Pro is $20 per user per month or $200 per user per year. The self-hosted Open Source edition is free with unlimited request emails through your own SMTP, but it has no SMS, bulk send, automated reminders or payment collection, and support runs through GitHub.
A "user" on DocuSeal is a web interface seat, not each person who signs. The Pro price for a single user, $200 a year, is lower than Docusign Standard. Not for you if you want to self-host without anyone to look after the server, backups and email delivery.
OpenSign calls itself a free and open-source alternative to Docusign. Its homepage advertises a free plan with unlimited e-signatures, multi-person signing, and completion certificates. It lists no price figures and names no licence.
That makes it the first thing to try at very low volume, but verify that a free plan covers templates, branding and support before you depend on it. Not for you if you need published paid plans to compare, because the homepage gives none.
| Tool | Cost for one sender (per the official pages) | Document limit | Seats | Self-host |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Docusign Standard | $360 a year | 100 envelopes per user per year | Per user, up to 50 | No |
| SignWell Light | $120 a year | Unlimited | 1 sender, extra senders available | No |
| Dropbox Sign Essentials | $120.60 a year | Not stated | 1 user | No |
| Documenso Individual | $300 a year | Unlimited | Individual | Yes |
| DocuSeal Pro | $200 a year | Not stated | Per web seat | Yes, free edition |
| OpenSign | Free plan advertised | Unlimited advertised | Not stated | Not stated |
You are a freelancer or one-person shop sending a few documents a month. Start on a free plan: SignWell (3 documents), Documenso (5) or DocuSeal (10 request emails). See free PDF signers if you also need to sign files yourself.
You have two or three sellers sending quotes and contracts. SignWell Light or Business gives unlimited documents at a flat per-sender price. If your quotes also need pricing tables and payments, compare PandaDoc alternatives.
You are technical and want control over data. Self-host DocuSeal's free edition or Documenso, and plan for backups, updates and SMTP. If you currently use Adobe's tools, Adobe Sign alternatives covers that move.
Nothing was tested. OpenSign's paid prices, Docusign's overage rate and the free-plan limits of Dropbox Sign are not covered because no official page stated them. No Reddit thread was available, so user sentiment comes from one Docusign Community thread and published roundups. This is not legal advice.
OpenSign advertises a free plan with unlimited e-signatures, and SignWell, Documenso and DocuSeal each have free plans of 3, 5 and 10 documents or requests a month. Among paid plans in this list, Dropbox Sign Essentials is $10.05 a month billed yearly and SignWell Light is $10 a month billed yearly.
Docusign's pricing page lists Personal at $11 a month with a $132 annual commitment and 5 envelopes a month. Standard is $30 per user a month ($360 annual commitment) and Business Pro is $45 ($540), both with 100 envelopes per user per year. Bulk send, payment collection and web forms are Business Pro only.
In the United States, 15 U.S.C. 7001(a) says a signature or contract cannot be denied legal effect solely because it is electronic. The same section does not force anyone to accept electronic signatures, so ask your counterparty. Other laws may require a particular form for some records, so ask a lawyer before relying on any tool.
Yes. DocuSeal's self-hosted Open Source edition is free with unlimited request emails through your own SMTP server, but has no SMS, bulk send, reminders or payment collection. Documenso and OpenSign are also open source. Self-hosting means you handle backups, updates and email delivery.
Dropbox Sign's pricing page says recipients who only sign documents need no account. DocuSeal's pricing page says a user means a web interface seat, not each person who signs. Check each tool's signer flow with a test document before sending a real contract to a client.
SignWell's Light plan lists unlimited documents at $10 a month billed yearly for one sender, with 5 templates per sender. Documenso Individual lists unlimited documents at $25 a month. OpenSign advertises unlimited e-signatures on its free plan, but its homepage gives no price or licence details.
Kevin Fan is a SaaS founder. He runs Free Instead Of, which tracks free and open-source alternatives to paid software and checks each price and free-plan limit against the vendor's own pages.
Based on the official pricing pages of Docusign, SignWell, Dropbox Sign, Documenso and DocuSeal, OpenSign's homepage, a Docusign Community thread from March 2025, the text of 15 U.S.C. 7001 and four recent roundup articles, all read on 2026-10-26. No tool was installed or tested.