ArtCraft's open-source Photoshop-style apps and AI studio, reviewed from its repositories: alpha state, licences, the legitimacy debate and alternatives.
•4 min read•Photo Editing & AI Images
Verdict:ArtCraft is a real, actively released set of open-source apps modelled on Adobe's, but its own README calls PhotoCraft an early alpha that is not yet a Photoshop replacement for daily professional work. Try it for curiosity, and use GIMP, Photopea, Inkscape or DaVinci Resolve for work that matters today.
| Tool | Price | Platforms | Best for | Tested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PhotoCraft (ArtCraft) | Free and open source (MIT or Apache-2.0) | Windows, macOS, Linux, Web | Curious users who want to try an alpha Photoshop-style editor that opens PSD files | Docs only |
| ArtCraft AI studio | Free and open source; optional subscriptions from $8 per month billed yearly | Windows, macOS, Web | People who want an open-source studio for AI image and video generation and compositing | Docs only |
| GIMP | Free; no paid tier | Windows, macOS, Linux | Photo retouching and compositing with a long-established free editor | Docs only |
| Photopea | Free in the browser | Web | Opening and saving PSD files with no install | Docs only |
| DaVinci Resolve | Free version; paid Studio edition | Windows, macOS, Linux | Video editing and grading up to Ultra HD at 60 fps in the free version | Docs only |
Independent comparison. Paid placements are labelled separately; editorial links earn no affiliate commissions. Learn more.
Images from the linked documentation. Versions and features may differ from current plans.

GIMP 3.0 — non-destructive filter workflow
GIMP team / gimp.org · Source · CC BY-SA 4.0
ArtCraft is an open-source project whose original product is an AI image and video studio. Since late September 2026 it has also published free desktop apps modelled on Adobe's, led by PhotoCraft for Photoshop-style editing. The project's own README calls PhotoCraft an early alpha that is not yet a Photoshop replacement for daily professional work, so use it to explore and keep a proven free tool for deadlines.
According to ArtCraft's site, it is an open-source studio for AI image and video creation. The tools include image-to-location, 2D and 3D compositing, image-to-3D mesh, character posing and background removal, and the site names models such as Seedance 2.5 and Nano Banana 2. The main repository is licensed Apache-2.0 and its latest release listed is v0.41.0, from September 26, 2026.
The site now lists 13 Craft apps: PhotoCraft, VectorCraft, FilmCraft, LightCraft, PdfCraft, EffectCraft, DesignCraft, FigCraft, WordCraft, SoundCraft, DeckCraft, CADCraft and GridCraft. An Italian tech-news summary says the project was announced on Reddit on October 2, 2026, with seven apps that map to Photoshop, Illustrator, Premiere Pro, Lightroom, After Effects, InDesign and Acrobat Pro.
PhotoCraft's repository describes it as an open-source, clean-room reimplementation of Photoshop written in Rust, with installers for Windows (x64, ARM64 and 32-bit), macOS, Linux and FreeBSD, and a web build. Its releases page shows v0.16.0 on October 25, 2026.
The README status note says it is in early alpha and "not yet a Photoshop replacement for daily professional work", and names AI and generative features, 15 missing tools, typography depth and plug-in compatibility as the biggest gaps. The roadmap, last reviewed October 17, 2026, estimates readiness for real work at about 45%, labels that number an estimate, and counts effort in hours of AI agent time. The other apps are also marked alpha in their repositories, and DesignCraft's roadmap lists a pre-alpha stage.
A Hacker News thread from October 4, 2026 drew 246 comments. Most people who tried the builds described them as laggy or buggy for real work, a few said they ran fine, and others criticised the code as AI-generated and doubted the pace of progress. Tedium's hands-on piece from October 8 found the apps fast and small, with rough colour pickers, menus and font detection, and said the legal question is unresolved.
These are other people's reports, not tests for this guide.
The PhotoCraft README says it is dual-licensed under MIT or Apache-2.0 at your option, while GitHub shows Apache-2.0 on the repositories checked. The ArtCraft name and logos are trademarks outside that licence. The README also states PhotoCraft is not affiliated with, sponsored by or endorsed by Adobe.
On the clean-room claim, the README says PhotoCraft is "implemented from public specs and observed behaviour only", with no proprietary code or assets. Hacker News commenters questioned whether a clean room is possible when AI models are trained on existing code, and some warned about trade dress, meaning the look and feel of an interface. Tedium said a lawyer should weigh in. No source read for this page reported a lawsuit or a statement from Adobe. This is not legal advice.
ArtCraft's pricing page says the studio is free and open source and can be used without a subscription by bringing your own compute and third-party subscriptions. Optional plans, billed yearly, are Basic at $8 per month for 1,000 credits, Pro at $28 for 3,750 and Max at $48 for 6,600, with Enterprise custom. Credits are refunded when a generation fails. Whether free users receive credits is not stated.
For work with deadlines, established free tools have longer records. The following are covered in more detail in our Photoshop alternatives guide:
If you came here because of Adobe's prices, our Adobe Black Friday guide lists what Adobe's pages show today.
Paying is reasonable when you must exchange native Adobe files with clients, need Photoshop's generative tools, or cannot risk an alpha. ArtCraft's own paid plans are optional credits for the AI studio, not for the open-source Craft apps. If you want a polished free editor, Affinity's site says it is free for individuals on Mac and Windows, and only optional AI tools need a Canva premium plan.
| PhotoCraft | GIMP | Photopea | Inkscape | DaVinci Resolve (free) | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Job | Photoshop-style editing | Photo editing | PSD editing in browser | Vector graphics | Video editing and grading |
| Price | Free | Free | Free | Free | Free version |
| Licence | MIT or Apache-2.0 | Open source | Not open source | GPL | Proprietary |
| Maturity | Early alpha | Established | Established | Established | Established |
| PSD | Open, edit, save | Not checked | Open and save | Not applicable | Not applicable |
No ArtCraft app was installed, so speed, stability and file fidelity are reported from the project's own documents and other people's accounts, not from testing. Readiness percentages in the roadmap are the project's own estimates. Whether the apps infringe on Adobe's interface or trade dress has not been decided in public, and this page gives no legal opinion. Adobe's response, if any, was not found.
ArtCraft is an open-source project from the storytold organization on GitHub. Its original product is a studio for AI image and video creation. Since late September 2026 it has also published free desktop apps modelled on Adobe tools, such as PhotoCraft and VectorCraft. Its site lists 13 Craft apps, including PhotoCraft, VectorCraft, FilmCraft and PdfCraft.
Not yet, by its own account. The PhotoCraft README says it is in early alpha and not yet a Photoshop replacement for daily professional work. Its roadmap estimates readiness for real work at about 45%. It lists gaps in AI features, 15 missing tools, typography depth and plug-in compatibility.
ArtCraft's pricing page says it is free and open source, and you can use it without a subscription by bringing your own compute and third-party subscriptions. Optional plans start at $8 per month billed yearly for 1,000 credits, then $28 for 3,750 and $48 for 6,600. Whether free users get credits is not stated.
The PhotoCraft README says it is dual-licensed under MIT or Apache-2.0 at your option, and GitHub shows Apache-2.0 on the repositories checked. The ArtCraft name and logos are trademarks and are excluded from that licence. The main ArtCraft studio repository also shows Apache-2.0.
The README says PhotoCraft is independent and not affiliated with, sponsored by or endorsed by Adobe, and describes its code as clean-room, written from public specifications and observed behaviour. Commenters on Hacker News questioned that claim, and Tedium said the legal question is unresolved. This page gives no legal opinion.
PhotoCraft's README says it opens, edits and saves layered PSD files, and that re-saving kept the render of 307 of 309 files in a public test set. It also says a re-saved file is not byte-identical to the source. Photopea also says it opens and saves PSD, so test both on your own files.
Kevin Fan is a SaaS founder. He runs Free Instead Of, which tracks free and open-source alternatives to paid software and checks each price and free-plan limit against the vendor's own pages.
The storytold GitHub organization (ArtCraft's repositories) was read on 2026-10-28 through the GitHub API: licences, releases, READMEs, and the PhotoCraft roadmap. The getartcraft.com home and pricing pages were read the same day. A Hacker News thread from October 2026, a Tedium article and an Italian tech-news summary were read for user reports and the legitimacy debate. Ars Technica's article, the lead for this topic, could not be opened and is not cited. Reddit was not used. No ArtCraft app was installed or run.