Smithery alternative options as its MCP proxy, API and Connect stop on October 31, 2026: vendor URLs, Arcade, Pipedream, Docker and Cloudflare compared.
•5 min read•AI Coding & Local LLMs
Verdict:If you only connect your own AI client to a server, switch to the vendor's official MCP URL. If you manage connections for users, Arcade and Pipedream replace Smithery's Connect with managed auth, and Docker or Cloudflare cover local and self-hosted servers.
| Tool | Price | Platforms | Best for | Tested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vendor's official MCP URL | No price stated; set by each vendor | Web | Individuals who connect an AI client to a service such as Linear and want to skip the middleman | Docs only |
| Arcade | Free at $0 with 2,000 tool calls per month; Team $25 per month plus usage | Web | Teams that need managed OAuth and hosted tools for their users, and the product Smithery points to | Docs only |
| Pipedream | Free for development only; Startup $99 per month billed annually | Web | Apps that let users connect their accounts to 3,000+ APIs through a hosted MCP server | Docs only |
| Docker MCP Catalog and Toolkit | No price stated on the docs page | Docker | Developers who want verified MCP servers packaged as containers and one profile shared across clients | Docs only |
| Cloudflare Workers | No price stated on the guide | Web | Developers who want to host their own remote MCP server with optional OAuth | Docs only |
Independent comparison. Paid placements are labelled separately; editorial links earn no affiliate commissions. Learn more.
Smithery shuts down its MCP proxy, API, Connect and accounts on October 31, 2026. For most people the answer is the vendor's own MCP URL. Teams that need managed sign-in for their users should look at Arcade or Pipedream, and developers who prefer to host themselves can use Docker's MCP Catalog locally or Cloudflare Workers for a remote server.
Smithery's notice lists what stops on October 31, 2026: server URLs on run.tools and server.smithery.ai, the Smithery API, Connect and Toolbox, accounts and API keys, and the CLI and SDKs, whose current versions are marked deprecated. The smithery.ai site continues as a public directory powered by Arcade.dev, and verified servers list their direct MCP URLs.
The notice gives two paths:
Every charge since August 5 is refunded and subscriptions are cancelled. The notice describes no export option for data or configuration, and it does not say how publishers who host servers on Smithery are affected, so publishers should write to the contact address on that page.
Smithery did three jobs: it hosted server URLs, it handled sign-in through Connect, and it listed servers. Match each to a replacement.
Trust matters too. A Hacker News post from April 2026 described a scan of the 100 most popular servers on Smithery, with 22 flagged and tool-description injection in six. The author estimated about half of the YARA findings were true positives, so treat it as a caution rather than a verdict. It does favour connecting to the vendor's own server where one exists.
The criteria below are what each pick is judged on: which of those jobs it replaces, who operates the server, cost, effort on your side, and whether you can self-host.
If your client connects to a service that runs its own MCP server, you can skip any middleman. Smithery's notice says verified servers will list direct URLs such as mcp.linear.app/mcp, and that individuals should use them. The official MCP Registry offers search and an API for discovering servers, and GitHub's MCP Registry lists 648 servers, each with a publisher and an Install button.
Neither page says whether it hosts servers, so these replace Smithery's directory, not its proxy. Prices are set by each vendor.
Who should not pick it: teams that must manage sign-in for many users.
Arcade is the company Smithery now belongs to, and the notice that recommends it is signed by a Smithery cofounder who describes himself as now part of Arcade, so weigh that recommendation accordingly. Its documentation describes an actions runtime for agents that handles OAuth and user tokens, offers 7,500+ agent-optimized tools across 81 MCP servers and MCP Gateways, and lets you register your own MCP server. Deployment options include Arcade Cloud and self-hosting with Helm.
Arcade's pricing page lists a Free plan at $0 per month with 2,000 auth events and 2,000 tool calls, a Team plan at $25 per month plus $0.10 per auth event and $0.01 per tool call, and custom Enterprise pricing with VPC or air-gapped deployment. The pages do not state whether Arcade is open source.
Who should not pick it: someone who needs more than 2,000 tool calls a month and wants a fixed price.
Pipedream runs a hosted MCP server for apps. According to its MCP documentation, it covers more than 3,000 APIs with over 10,000 tools, serves a remote endpoint over SSE and streamable HTTP, and provides built-in user authentication, with a button in your UI or a Connect Link returned when an account is missing.
Pipedream's pricing shows a Free plan at $0 that allows development only, with no production environment and external users limited to development. Startup costs $99 per month billed annually or $150 billed monthly, and Business is custom. Our Zapier alternatives and n8n alternatives pages cover the wider automation field.
Who should not pick it: a team that needs production use without paying.
Docker's catalog is the local option. According to Docker's documentation, catalogs include more than 300 verified servers packaged as container images, profiles group servers into named sets, and clients such as Claude Code, Cursor and Zed connect through the MCP Gateway. You configure a profile once instead of setting up each server for every app.
The page states no price or licence and notes that the MCP Gateway as part of Docker AI Governance is invite-only. If you are new to containers, see our Docker Desktop alternatives.
Who should not pick it: users who want a hosted URL with no local software.
Cloudflare suits developers who wrote their own MCP server and used Smithery to host it. Cloudflare's guide deploys a remote server through a Deploy to Workers button or npx wrangler@latest deploy, serves it at /mcp on a workers.dev subdomain over streamable HTTP, and describes optional OAuth through the Workers OAuth Provider.
The guide does not mention a free plan or prices, so check Cloudflare's pricing before you rely on it.
Who should not pick it: anyone who does not write or maintain server code.
Paid plans make sense when you serve other people's accounts. Arcade's Free plan stops at 2,000 tool calls, and Pipedream's Free plan is limited to development, so a product with real users will pay on either. Individuals connecting their own client can usually stay free by using vendor URLs, the registries or Docker.
| Vendor URL | Arcade | Pipedream | Docker | Cloudflare | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Replaces | Hosting, directory | Auth, hosting | Auth, hosting | Local running | Your own hosting |
| Managed user sign-in | Vendor's own | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Optional OAuth |
| Free tier | Set by vendor | 2,000 tool calls per month | Development only | Not stated | Not stated |
| Paid from | Not stated | $25 per month plus usage | $99 per month, annual | Not stated | Not stated |
| Self-host | Not applicable | Helm, VPC | Mentioned | Local containers | Your Workers account |
If your clients are coding agents, see our Claude Code alternatives guide.
No tool was tested, so latency, reliability and the quality of each server are not compared. Smithery's page gives no export option and no detail for server publishers. Docker's and Cloudflare's prices are not stated on the pages read. Few public user discussions of the shutdown exist yet, so the criteria rest mostly on Smithery's own notice.
Smithery's notice says its connection management services shut down on October 31, 2026. That covers server URLs on run.tools and server.smithery.ai, the API, Connect, Toolbox, accounts and API keys, and the CLI and SDKs. The smithery.ai directory continues, now powered by Arcade.dev.
Smithery says individuals should switch to the vendor's official MCP URL, which is listed on the server's page on smithery.ai. Verified servers will show direct URLs such as mcp.linear.app/mcp. For discovery, the official MCP Registry and GitHub's MCP Registry list servers you can browse and search.
Smithery says teams managing connections for users need a replacement before October 31 and points to Arcade.dev for ready-made MCPs like Gmail or Slack. Pipedream also offers managed user authentication, a hosted MCP server and a Connect Link, and its Free plan is limited to development.
Smithery's notice says every charge since August 5 will be refunded and subscriptions cancelled with no further charges. It adds that refunds typically take 5 to 10 business days. The notice does not mention any way to export data or configuration, so copy what you need yourself.
Yes. Docker's MCP Catalog includes more than 300 verified servers packaged as container images, and profiles group servers so clients such as Claude Code, Cursor and Zed connect through the MCP Gateway. Docker's page states no price. You can also host your own server on Cloudflare Workers.
Arcade's pricing page lists a Free plan at $0 per month with 2,000 auth events and 2,000 tool calls, managed on Arcade Cloud with community support. Team costs $25 per month plus $0.10 per auth event and $0.01 per tool call. Enterprise pricing is custom.
Kevin Fan is a SaaS founder. He runs Free Instead Of, which tracks free and open-source alternatives to paid software and checks each price and free-plan limit against the vendor's own pages.
Smithery's shutdown page was read on 2026-10-28. The official pages for the MCP Registry, GitHub's MCP Registry, Docker's MCP Catalog and Toolkit, Arcade's documentation and pricing, Pipedream's MCP documentation and pricing, and Cloudflare's remote MCP guide were read the same day. Two competing alternatives pages and one Hacker News thread from April 2026 were read for context. Reddit was not used. No tool was installed or tested.