Best open-source Web Analytics Tools compared: Matomo, Umami, Plausible Analytics, PostHog and 2 more, with licenses, platforms and prices from official pages checked October 24, 2026.
•4 min read•Analytics & BI
| Tool | Price | Platforms | Best for | Tested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Matomo | Free (On-premise Community edition is free with unlimited users and hits; heatmaps and session recording need a paid on-premise bundle) | Web browser, Self-hosted (PHP) | Teams replacing Google Analytics | Docs only |
| Umami | Free (Hobby: up to 100K events per month, 1 website, 6 months data retention; self-hosting is free); paid from $20 per month, billed monthly (Pro, 1M events per month) | Web browser, Self-hosted | Small sites that want a clean view | Docs only |
| Plausible Analytics | Free (Community Edition is free to self-host; the hosted service has a 30-day trial with no card); paid from $9 per month, Starter, up to 10k pageviews (billing term not stated on the page) | Web browser, Self-hosted | Privacy-minded sites with light reporting | Docs only |
| PostHog | Free (Cloud free tier includes 5k recordings and 1M events a month; self-hosted hobby deploy suits about 100k events a month) | Web browser, Linux (self-hosted, Docker) | Product analytics for apps | Docs only |
| OpenReplay | Free (Open-source self-hosted edition is free; you run it yourself); paid from $199 per month (Dedicated managed instance) | Web browser, Self-hosted | Watching real user sessions | Docs only |
| GrowthBook | Free (Cloud Starter: up to 3 users, 1 project, unlimited feature flags, experiments and traffic; self-hosted Open Source plan is free for 1 project); paid from $40 per seat/month (Cloud Pro, up to 30 users) | Web browser, Self-hosted | A/B tests and feature flags | Docs only |
Independent comparison. Paid placements are labelled separately; editorial links earn no affiliate commissions. Learn more.
Open-source analytics is chosen for three reasons: you own the data, you avoid cookie banners, or you want to stop paying per pageview. Each tool here can be self-hosted free of license charge, but not free of effort. You run a server, a database, updates and backups, and a busy site makes that real work. Matomo is the closest replacement for Google Analytics, with a wide report set, though heatmaps and session recording need paid bundles. Plausible and Umami keep to a short, simple dashboard and are the easiest to read. PostHog and OpenReplay go beyond pageviews into product analytics and session replay, which suits apps more than blogs. GrowthBook is about experiments and feature flags rather than traffic reports. A key point: several of these are open core, meaning an enterprise folder sits under a separate license, so check which features you need before assuming they are in the free edition. Hosted plans exist for most, and they are often the practical choice for small sites, since a cheap managed plan can cost less than your time. Decide whether you need traffic reports, product behavior, or experiments, because that narrows the field quickly.
GPL-3.0 and the broadest Google Analytics replacement. On-premise Community is free with unlimited users and hits; heatmaps and session recording need a paid bundle.
Price: Free (On-premise Community edition is free with unlimited users and hits; heatmaps and session recording need a paid on-premise bundle) (Matomo pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web browser, Self-hosted (PHP). GPL-3.0-or-later (open source) (license source).
Project activity: 22k GitHub stars · latest release 5.14.2 (Oct 22, 2026) · last commit Oct 27, 2026
Best for: Teams replacing Google Analytics.
MIT with a simple dashboard. Self-hosting is free; the hosted Hobby plan allows 100K events a month and one website, with Pro at $20 a month.
Price: Free (Hobby: up to 100K events per month, 1 website, 6 months data retention; self-hosting is free); paid from $20 per month, billed monthly (Pro, 1M events per month) (Umami pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web browser, Self-hosted. MIT (open source) (license source).
Project activity: 39.7k GitHub stars · latest release v3.4.1 (Oct 23, 2026) · last commit Oct 27, 2026
Best for: Small sites that want a clean view.
AGPL-3.0 Community Edition you can self-host. The hosted Starter plan is $9 a month for up to 10k pageviews, with a 30-day trial.
Price: Free (Community Edition is free to self-host; the hosted service has a 30-day trial with no card); paid from $9 per month, Starter, up to 10k pageviews (billing term not stated on the page) (Plausible Analytics pricing, checked 2026-10-24).
Platforms and license: Web browser, Self-hosted. AGPL-3.0 (Community Edition) (open source) (license source).
Project activity: 29.7k GitHub stars · latest release v3.2.1 (May 15, 2026) · last commit Oct 27, 2026
Best for: Privacy-minded sites with light reporting.
MIT core with an ee directory under a separate license. Cloud free tier includes 1M events and 5k recordings a month; self-hosted hobby deploys suit about 100k events.
Price: Free (Cloud free tier includes 5k recordings and 1M events a month; self-hosted hobby deploy suits about 100k events a month) (PostHog pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web browser, Linux (self-hosted, Docker). MIT (ee/ directory under a separate licence) (open source) (license source).
Project activity: 40.5k GitHub stars · latest release desktop-v0.61.851 (Oct 27, 2026) · last commit Oct 28, 2026
Best for: Product analytics for apps.
AGPL-3.0 session replay with an enterprise folder under a commercial license. The self-hosted edition is free; a dedicated managed instance is $199 a month.
Price: Free (Open-source self-hosted edition is free; you run it yourself); paid from $199 per month (Dedicated managed instance) (OpenReplay pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web browser, Self-hosted. AGPL-3.0 for most code; ee/ directory under a commercial licence (open source) (license source).
Project activity: 13.1k GitHub stars · latest release v1.28.0 (Sep 25, 2026) · last commit Oct 27, 2026
Best for: Watching real user sessions.
Worth knowing: Serverless usage-based plan has no listed rates.
MIT with enterprise directories separately licensed, built for experiments and feature flags. Self-hosted open source is free for one project; Cloud Pro is $40 a seat.
Price: Free (Cloud Starter: up to 3 users, 1 project, unlimited feature flags, experiments and traffic; self-hosted Open Source plan is free for 1 project); paid from $40 per seat/month (Cloud Pro, up to 30 users) (GrowthBook pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Web browser, Self-hosted. MIT Expat, with enterprise directories under a separate licence (open source) (license source).
Project activity: 8.5k GitHub stars · latest release v5.1.0 (Sep 22, 2026) · last commit Oct 27, 2026
Best for: A/B tests and feature flags.
Worth knowing: Enterprise plans are custom priced.
Docs-only for Matomo, Umami, Plausible Analytics, PostHog, OpenReplay, GrowthBook: we did not install or run them, so feature claims come from vendor pages. Vendor prices and free limits change; confirm on the linked pricing page before you commit.
Kevin Fan is a SaaS founder. He runs Free Instead Of, which tracks free and open-source alternatives to paid software and checks each price and free-plan limit against the vendor's own pages.
Based on official pricing, license and product pages checked between 2026-10-22 and 2026-10-24: Matomo, Umami, Plausible Analytics, PostHog, OpenReplay, GrowthBook. Prices, free limits and licenses are the figures shown on those pages on those dates. No tool on this page was installed or run. No accounts were created.