Adobe Firefly alternatives: Stable Diffusion, Leonardo.Ai, Ideogram, Gemini app and 1 more. Prices and licenses checked October 25, 2026.
•3 min read•Photo Editing & AI Images
Verdict:Firefly's free plan gives daily generations across image, video and audio, but Adobe does not state a number on its plans page. The paid Standard plan includes 2,000 generative credits a month; check Adobe's pricing page for the price in your currency. That vagueness is the usual reason people look elsewhere: you cannot tell how much you get before the cap hits. If you want no cap at all, Stable Diffusion runs locally and is free under Stability's Community License while your revenue stays under USD 1 million a year; the cost is a GPU, setup time and no hosted editor. Leonardo and Ideogram are the nearest hosted equivalents with free plans, and Ideogram's docs give a clear figure of 10 slow credits a week. Gemini's free plan lists image generation and editing, which is enough for occasional edits. Midjourney is paid only. The main thing you give up is the Adobe ecosystem: Firefly sits next to Photoshop and Express, and none of these alternatives replace that connection. If you work in those apps daily, keep Firefly and treat the others as extra capacity. If you only generate pictures, a free plan elsewhere with a published allowance is easier to plan around.
| Tool | Price | Platforms | Best for | Tested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stable Diffusion | Free (Core models are free to download and use under the Community License for individuals and organisations with under USD 1M annual revenue) | Self-hosted model weights | Unlimited local generation | Docs only |
| Leonardo.Ai | Free (Free plan with a daily token allowance; check the pricing page for the current amount) | Web | Browser image generation with a free tier | Docs only |
| Ideogram | Free (Free plan: 10 slow credits a week, up to 40 images a week) | Web | Occasional images without Adobe | Docs only |
| Gemini app | Free (Free with a Google account); paid from $4.99 per month (Google AI Plus) | Web, iOS, Android | Image edits inside a chat | Docs only |
| Midjourney | See pricing page | Web | Paid hosted generation | Docs only |
| Runway | Free (Free: 125 one-time credits that do not expire); paid from $12 per month, billed annually (Standard, 625 credits a month; $15 monthly) | Web | AI video | Docs only |
Independent comparison. Paid placements are labelled separately; editorial links earn no affiliate commissions. Learn more.
Adobe Firefly today: Free (Free plan with daily generations across image, video and audio; Adobe does not state a number on the page); paid from $9.99 per month, Standard (2,000 generative credits, monthly billing; Pro $19.99, Pro Plus $49.99, Premium $199.99) (Adobe Firefly pricing, checked 2026-10-25).
Firefly's free plan gives daily generations, but the page publishes no number. Paid plans start at $9.99 a month for 2,000 generative credits, with $19.99 buying 4,000. Credits reset each cycle and do not roll over, and video, speech, sound effects, music and partner-model outputs draw on them, while image generation stays unlimited on paid plans. Adobe's commercial-use statement covers its own Firefly models; for partner models you decide whether the output suits your project.
Compared with Adobe Firefly: Core models are free under the Community License below USD 1M revenue and run on your own machine, so there is no daily cap. You lose Firefly's hosted ease and Adobe integration.
Price: Free (Core models are free to download and use under the Community License for individuals and organisations with under USD 1M annual revenue) (Stable Diffusion pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Self-hosted model weights. Stability AI Community License (free below USD 1M annual revenue; Enterprise License at custom pricing above that).
Best for: Unlimited local generation.
Compared with Adobe Firefly: Free plan with a daily token allowance and a browser editor. You lose Firefly's tie to Adobe apps and gain a model-and-style focus; check its pricing page for paid plans.
Price: Free (Free plan with a daily token allowance; check the pricing page for the current amount) (Leonardo.Ai pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Browser image generation with a free tier.
Compared with Adobe Firefly: Free plan with 10 slow credits a week, per its docs. Much less than Firefly's daily allowance in raw volume, but it is a separate tool with no Adobe subscription needed.
Price: Free (Free plan: 10 slow credits a week, up to 40 images a week) (Ideogram pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Occasional images without Adobe.
Compared with Adobe Firefly: Free plan includes image generation and editing, with limits that refresh every five hours. You lose Firefly's Adobe workflow and gain a chat-based image tool.
Price: Free (Free with a Google account); paid from $4.99 per month (Google AI Plus) (Gemini app pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web, iOS, Android. Proprietary.
Best for: Image edits inside a chat.
Worth knowing: Google AI Pro is $19.99/month; Ultra starts at $99.99/month.
Compared with Adobe Firefly: Paid only, with no free trial on its website. Where Firefly has a free daily allowance, this costs from the start; check its pricing page for current plans.
Price: See pricing page (Midjourney pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Paid hosted generation.
Compared with Adobe Firefly: Free gives 125 one-time credits that do not expire; Standard is $12 a month billed annually for 625 credits a month. A video-first option for people whose Firefly credits mostly go on video.
Price: Free (Free: 125 one-time credits that do not expire); paid from $12 per month, billed annually (Standard, 625 credits a month; $15 monthly) (Runway pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Docs-only for Stable Diffusion, Leonardo.Ai, Ideogram, Gemini app, Midjourney: we did not install or run them, so feature claims come from vendor pages and we did not test import from Adobe Firefly. Vendor prices and free limits change; confirm on the linked pricing page before you buy or migrate.
Kevin Fan is a SaaS founder. He runs Free Instead Of, which tracks free and open-source alternatives to paid software and checks each price and free-plan limit against the vendor's own pages.
Based on official pricing and product pages checked between 2026-10-22 and 2026-10-25: Adobe Firefly, Stable Diffusion, Leonardo.Ai, Ideogram, Gemini app, Midjourney, Runway. Prices, free limits and licenses are the figures shown on those pages on those dates. No tool on this page was installed or run. No accounts were created.