SentinelOne alternatives: CrowdStrike Falcon, Sophos, Microsoft Defender for Business, Wazuh and 2 more. Prices and licenses checked October 25, 2026.
•3 min read•Security Software & Testing
Verdict:SentinelOne's Singularity Complete lists at $179.99 per endpoint a year and Commercial at $229.99, on a page that shows prices for 5 to 100 workstations and says the partner price controls. There is no free trial on that page, only a demo. If you only need a cheaper managed EDR, CrowdStrike's Falcon Go at $59.99 per device a year is the obvious price comparison. Microsoft Defender for Business is $3 per user a month and makes sense when you already pay for Microsoft 365. Sophos is worth a trial but publishes no numbers. For no-license-cost options, Wazuh covers detection and compliance monitoring if you can run the servers, and LimaCharlie's free tier handles two endpoints for testing. Velociraptor is a forensics tool, not a replacement for a prevention agent. The trade-off is automation. SentinelOne blocks and rolls back on the endpoint; Wazuh and Velociraptor need analysts to act on alerts. Stay if you lack security staff and depend on autonomous response. Leave if the per-endpoint price is the problem and you have someone to run open-source tooling or can accept a different vendor.
| Tool | Price | Platforms | Best for | Tested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CrowdStrike Falcon | Paid from $59.99 per device/year, billed annually (Falcon Go, up to 100 devices) | Windows, macOS, Linux | A like-for-like paid EDR | Docs only |
| Sophos | See pricing page | Windows, macOS, Linux | Teams that want a paid vendor with a trial | Docs only |
| Microsoft Defender for Business | Paid from $3 per user/month, billed yearly | Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, Linux | Small businesses on Microsoft 365 | Docs only |
| Wazuh | Free (free, no license cost; paid support and cloud not priced on the page) | Windows, Linux, macOS, Self-hosted | Self-hosted detection on a budget | Docs only |
| LimaCharlie | Free (Community: up to 2 endpoints, free EDR and telemetry, 1 year storage); paid from $3 per endpoint (Standard EDR; billing period not stated) | Windows, Linux, macOS, Web | Testing EDR on a few machines | Docs only |
| Velociraptor | Free | Windows, Linux, macOS | Digital forensics and hunting | Docs only |
| Huntress | Paid from $8.99 per endpoint/month list price (Managed EDR; Managed ITDR $4.80 per identity, Managed SIEM $4.00 per data source) | Web browser | Security & System | Docs only |
Independent comparison. Paid placements are labelled separately; editorial links earn no affiliate commissions. Learn more.
SentinelOne today: Paid from $179.99 per endpoint/year (Singularity Complete, 5-100 workstations) (SentinelOne pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
SentinelOne lists prices per endpoint billed annually: Singularity Complete at $179.99 and Commercial at $229.99, shown for 5-100 workstations. Managed Threat Hunting and 90-day data retention only arrive with Commercial, while Complete keeps 14 days. Enterprise is contact-sales, and managed detection and response is an add-on with no listed price. Purchases go through partners, and the partner's price controls over the page.
Compared with SentinelOne: Falcon Go is $59.99 per device a year for up to 100 devices, well under SentinelOne Complete at $179.99. Pro is $99.99 and Enterprise $184.99, so compare tiers rather than names.
Price: Paid from $59.99 per device/year, billed annually (Falcon Go, up to 100 devices) (CrowdStrike Falcon pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Windows, macOS, Linux. Proprietary.
Best for: A like-for-like paid EDR.
Worth knowing: Falcon Pro is $99.99 and Enterprise $184.99 per device per year; 15-day free trial.
Compared with SentinelOne: Sells endpoint protection with a 30-day free trial but publishes no prices. Closer to SentinelOne in scope than the free tools, though you must ask for a quote.
Price: See pricing page (Sophos pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Windows, macOS, Linux. Proprietary.
Best for: Teams that want a paid vendor with a trial.
Compared with SentinelOne: $3 per user a month billed yearly with a 30-day trial. A cheaper way to get managed endpoint protection if you already use Microsoft 365, though SentinelOne is deeper outside Windows.
Price: Paid from $3 per user/month, billed yearly (Microsoft Defender for Business pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, Linux. Proprietary.
Best for: Small businesses on Microsoft 365.
Worth knowing: 30-day free trial; the platform list is Microsoft's published coverage and was not re-read here.
Compared with SentinelOne: Free open-source XDR and SIEM with host agents on Windows, Linux and macOS. You run the platform yourself, so you lose SentinelOne's managed autonomous response.
Price: Free (free, no license cost; paid support and cloud not priced on the page) (Wazuh pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Windows, Linux, macOS, Self-hosted. GPL-2.0 (most code); AGPL-3.0 (engine) (open source).
Project activity: 17.5k GitHub stars · latest release v4.14.9 (Oct 15, 2026) · last commit Oct 27, 2026
Best for: Self-hosted detection on a budget.
Worth knowing: XDR/SIEM with host agents; free cloud trial.
Compared with SentinelOne: Community tier is free for up to 2 endpoints, with EDR and a year of storage; paid starts at $3 per endpoint. Small scale only, but you get a real EDR to test.
Price: Free (Community: up to 2 endpoints, free EDR and telemetry, 1 year storage); paid from $3 per endpoint (Standard EDR; billing period not stated) (LimaCharlie pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Windows, Linux, macOS, Web. Proprietary SaaS.
Best for: Testing EDR on a few machines.
Worth knowing: Telemetry is $0.20/GB on paid.
Compared with SentinelOne: Open-source endpoint hunting and incident-response collection. Not a prevention agent, so it will not block malware as SentinelOne does, but it is free and strong for investigations.
Price: Free (Velociraptor pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Windows, Linux, macOS. AGPL-3.0 (open source).
Project activity: 4.4k GitHub stars · latest release v0.77.3 (Oct 5, 2026) · last commit Oct 27, 2026
Best for: Digital forensics and hunting.
Worth knowing: Endpoint visibility, hunting and DFIR collection, not a prevention agent.
Compared with SentinelOne: Managed EDR lists at $8.99 per endpoint a month, about $108 a year against SentinelOne's $179.99 Complete tier. Direct buyers face a 50-seat minimum per product and a 12-month term; volume lowers the rate.
Price: Paid from $8.99 per endpoint/month list price (Managed EDR; Managed ITDR $4.80 per identity, Managed SIEM $4.00 per data source) (Huntress pricing, checked 2026-10-25).
Docs-only for CrowdStrike Falcon, Sophos, Microsoft Defender for Business, Wazuh, LimaCharlie, Velociraptor: we did not install or run them, so feature claims come from vendor pages and we did not test import from SentinelOne. Vendor prices and free limits change; confirm on the linked pricing page before you buy or migrate.
Kevin Fan is a SaaS founder. He runs Free Instead Of, which tracks free and open-source alternatives to paid software and checks each price and free-plan limit against the vendor's own pages.
Based on official pricing and product pages checked between 2026-10-22 and 2026-10-25: SentinelOne, CrowdStrike Falcon, Sophos, Microsoft Defender for Business, Wazuh, LimaCharlie, Velociraptor, Huntress. Prices, free limits and licenses are the figures shown on those pages on those dates. No tool on this page was installed or run. No accounts were created.