ProtonVPN Alternatives 2026: 5 Options, 2 Free

ProtonVPN alternatives: Windscribe, TunnelBear, Mullvad VPN, Surfshark and 1 more. Prices and licenses checked October 23, 2026.

•3 min read•Passwords, Privacy & Identity

Editorial illustration: ProtonVPN Alternatives 2026: 5 Options, 2 Free

Verdict:Leave ProtonVPN when you need more than one device, or when its paid plan no longer fits your budget. If you only need a VPN on one device, ProtonVPN Free remains the zero-cost option, and its data is not capped. Windscribe is the nearest free step when you want a second device for light use, with 10GB a month after email confirmation. For a paid switch, Mullvad gives one flat monthly price in euros with no tiers and no commitment, though it costs more per month than ProtonVPN Plus at $3.49. Surfshark and ExpressVPN are cheaper per month, but their lowest prices depend on long billing terms and neither has a free plan. The trade-off to check first is the commitment: a lower monthly price from Surfshark or ExpressVPN is real only if you accept a two-year or 24-month term, while ProtonVPN's free tier already covers one device with no data limit. Test the free tier on your own traffic before you pay for anything.

Quick comparison

ToolPricePlatformsBest forTested
WindscribeFree (10 GB of data per month with a confirmed email (2 GB without), 10 server locations); paid from $3 per Build-A-Plan minimum purchase ($1 per location per month); Pro is $9 monthly or $69 per yearDesktop and mobile appsLight use on a free planDocs only
TunnelBearFree (2GB of secure browsing per account, described as testing and limited usage; reset period not stated); paid from $3.33Desktop and mobile appsTrying a simple VPN appDocs only
Mullvad VPNPaid from EUR 5 per month, flat rate including VAT; pay monthly or top up for a year at the same rateDesktop and mobile appsA predictable monthly billDocs only
SurfsharkPaid from $2.49 per month on the 24-month billing optionDesktop and mobile appsSeveral devices at a lower rateDocs only
ExpressVPNPaid from $2.99 per month, 2-year plan with 30-day money-back guarantee (Basic; charged $83.72 for the first 28 months)Desktop and mobile appsUsers who commit to two yearsDocs only

Independent comparison. Paid placements are labelled separately; editorial links earn no affiliate commissions. Learn more.

Good fit if

  • You need a free VPN with a monthly data allowance for light use (Windscribe is the pick)
  • You want one flat monthly price with no tiers (Mullvad VPN is the pick)
  • You need several devices at a lower monthly rate and accept a long commitment (Surfshark is the pick)

Not ideal if

  • You rely on ProtonVPN features or integrations that these tools do not replicate

ProtonVPN today: Free (Free plan: 1 device at a time, medium speed, 10 countries (randomly selected), no data limit); paid from $3.49 per month, billed for 24 months (VPN Plus) (ProtonVPN pricing, checked 2026-10-23).

Why people look for ProtonVPN alternatives

Proton VPN Free allows one device at a time, medium speed and 10 randomly selected countries. Streaming, P2P and the malware and ads blocker are left for paid plans. VPN Plus is $3.49 per month on the 2-year deal, billed $83.76 for the first 24 months, then $83.88 every 12 months, about $6.99 per month. Plus covers 10 devices at once, and there is a 30-day money-back guarantee.

Windscribe

Compared with ProtonVPN: ProtonVPN Free allows one device at a time with no data limit. Windscribe's free plan gives 10GB a month after email confirmation, so it suits a second device for light use. You give up the unlimited data.

Price: Free (10 GB of data per month with a confirmed email (2 GB without), 10 server locations); paid from $3 per Build-A-Plan minimum purchase ($1 per location per month); Pro is $9 monthly or $69 per year (Windscribe pricing, checked 2026-10-23).

Platforms and license: Desktop and mobile apps. Proprietary.

Best for: Light use on a free plan.

TunnelBear

Compared with ProtonVPN: Its free plan is 2GB of browsing per account, far smaller than ProtonVPN Free's uncapped data. The Unlimited plan is listed from $3.33 a month, close to ProtonVPN Plus at $3.49. Check the pricing page for the billing term.

Price: Free (2GB of secure browsing per account, described as testing and limited usage; reset period not stated); paid from $3.33 (TunnelBear pricing, checked 2026-10-23).

Platforms and license: Desktop and mobile apps. Proprietary.

Best for: Trying a simple VPN app.

Mullvad VPN

Compared with ProtonVPN: No free plan, and the price is a flat 5 euros a month including VAT with no tiers. Against ProtonVPN Plus at $3.49 a month on a 24-month term, it costs more per month but needs no long commitment.

Price: Paid from EUR 5 per month, flat rate including VAT; pay monthly or top up for a year at the same rate (Mullvad VPN pricing, checked 2026-10-23).

Platforms and license: Desktop and mobile apps. Proprietary.

Best for: A predictable monthly bill.

Surfshark

Compared with ProtonVPN: No free plan, only a trial usable on up to three devices. The lowest page price is $2.49 a month on the 24-month option, cheaper than ProtonVPN Plus but tied to a long term. You give up ProtonVPN Free's permanent free tier.

Price: Paid from $2.49 per month on the 24-month billing option (Surfshark pricing, checked 2026-10-23).

Platforms and license: Desktop and mobile apps. Proprietary.

Best for: Several devices at a lower rate.

ExpressVPN

Compared with ProtonVPN: No free plan. Basic is listed at $2.99 a month on a two-year term, so it beats ProtonVPN Plus per month only if you commit for two years. You give up ProtonVPN Free's permanent free tier.

Price: Paid from $2.99 per month, 2-year plan with 30-day money-back guarantee (Basic; charged $83.72 for the first 28 months) (ExpressVPN pricing, checked 2026-10-23).

Platforms and license: Desktop and mobile apps. Proprietary.

Best for: Users who commit to two years.

Which one to pick

  • You need a free VPN with a monthly data allowance for light use: Windscribe
  • You want one flat monthly price with no tiers: Mullvad VPN
  • You need several devices at a lower monthly rate and accept a long commitment: Surfshark

Limits of this review

Docs-only for Windscribe, TunnelBear, Mullvad VPN, Surfshark, ExpressVPN: we did not install or run them, so feature claims come from vendor pages and we did not test import from ProtonVPN. Vendor prices and free limits change; confirm on the linked pricing page before you buy or migrate.

Related guides

More in Passwords, Privacy & Identity

All Passwords, Privacy & Identity alternatives →

Sources

Kevin Fan

Kevin Fan is a SaaS founder. He runs Free Instead Of, which tracks free and open-source alternatives to paid software and checks each price and free-plan limit against the vendor's own pages.

Methodology

Based on official pricing and product pages checked 2026-10-23: ProtonVPN, Windscribe, TunnelBear, Mullvad VPN, Surfshark, ExpressVPN. Prices, free limits and licenses are the figures shown on those pages on those dates. No tool on this page was installed or run. No accounts were created.

Share: