Suno alternatives: ACE-Step, MusicGen (AudioCraft), ElevenLabs, AIVA and 2 more. Prices and licenses checked October 25, 2026.
•3 min read•Audio & Music
Verdict:Suno's free plan gives 50 credits a day with no monthly song downloads and no commercial rights; Pro at $8 a month adds 20 downloads, 2,500 credits and commercial rights, and Premier at $24 a month adds 10,000 credits and 60 downloads. People usually look elsewhere for one of two reasons: they want to publish what they make, or they want to avoid credits altogether. For the second group, ACE-Step is Apache 2.0 and runs on your own hardware, with a README that says peak VRAM fell to 8GB in May 2025; it also edits lyrics and repaints sections. MusicGen's code is MIT but its weights are CC-BY-NC 4.0, so keep it to personal projects. Udio is the hosted rival to try first if you want a like-for-like site, though you should check its plan numbers. AIVA fits instrumental scores, but its free tier keeps the copyright with AIVA and bans monetization. ElevenLabs has a free plan and is mainly a voice product; verify its music features and licence before relying on it. The trade-off is simple: local models are free and open but you give up Suno's polish, vocals and one-click workflow, and hosted rivals have their own credit systems. If you only make songs for fun, Suno free is enough. If you publish, compare licence terms line by line, not just price.
| Tool | Price | Platforms | Best for | Tested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ACE-Step | Free (Free to run on your own hardware; the README says an update on 2025-05-10 lowered peak VRAM to 8GB) | Self-hosted (Python, NVIDIA GPU or Apple Silicon) | Free local music generation | Docs only |
| MusicGen (AudioCraft) | Free (Free to run on your own hardware; the weights are licensed for non-commercial use only) | Self-hosted (Python) | Non-commercial experiments on your own machine | Docs only |
| ElevenLabs | Free (Free: 10,000 credits per month; commercial licence appears to start on the paid Starter plan); paid from $6 per month, billed monthly (Starter; $5 equivalent on annual billing; Creator $22) | Web browser | Voice-first work with a free plan | Docs only |
| AIVA | Free (Free: 3 downloads a month, tracks up to 3 minutes, AIVA owns the copyright, no monetization, credit required, MP3 and MIDI); paid from EUR 11 per month plus VAT, billed annually (Standard) | Web | Instrumental and film-style scoring | Docs only |
| Udio | Free | Web | Hosted song generation to compare directly | Docs only |
| Stable Audio | Free | Web | Short audio and loops, after checking terms | Docs only |
| Soundraw | Paid from $11.04 per month, Creator, annual toggle price ($16.99 billed monthly; billing terms of the lower figure are not stated) | Web browser | AI | Docs only |
Independent comparison. Paid placements are labelled separately; editorial links earn no affiliate commissions. Learn more.
Suno today: Free (Free: 50 credits per day, no monthly song downloads, no commercial rights); paid from $8 per month, billed monthly (Pro, 2,500 credits) (Suno pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Suno's Free plan gives 50 credits a day but no song downloads and no commercial rights. Commercial rights start on Pro at $8 per month, which allows 20 downloads a month, and Premier at $24 allows 60. Subscription credits do not roll over, add-on credits need an active subscription, and uploads are capped at 8 minutes on Free and Pro and 30 on Premier. Annual billing cuts the price by 20%.
Compared with Suno: Open-source music model under Apache 2.0, free to run; its README says peak VRAM dropped to 8GB. No hosted site like Suno, so you set up the tooling yourself.
Price: Free (Free to run on your own hardware; the README says an update on 2025-05-10 lowered peak VRAM to 8GB) (ACE-Step pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Self-hosted (Python, NVIDIA GPU or Apple Silicon). Apache-2.0 (open source).
Project activity: 5k GitHub stars · last commit Feb 15, 2026
Best for: Free local music generation.
Compared with Suno: Code is MIT but the released weights are CC-BY-NC 4.0, so non-commercial only. Free to run; Suno Pro includes commercial rights. Text and melody conditioned, with no vocals claimed.
Price: Free (Free to run on your own hardware; the weights are licensed for non-commercial use only) (MusicGen (AudioCraft) pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Self-hosted (Python). Code MIT; model weights CC-BY-NC 4.0.
Best for: Non-commercial experiments on your own machine.
Compared with Suno: Free plan with 10,000 credits a month; the paid Starter plan at $6 a month appears to be where commercial use begins. Mainly a voice product, so confirm its music tools yourself.
Price: Free (Free: 10,000 credits per month; commercial licence appears to start on the paid Starter plan); paid from $6 per month, billed monthly (Starter; $5 equivalent on annual billing; Creator $22) (ElevenLabs pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web browser. Proprietary SaaS.
Best for: Voice-first work with a free plan.
Compared with Suno: Free plan allows 3 downloads a month up to 3 minutes, but AIVA owns the copyright and monetization is not allowed. Standard is 11 EUR a month plus VAT, billed annually.
Price: Free (Free: 3 downloads a month, tracks up to 3 minutes, AIVA owns the copyright, no monetization, credit required, MP3 and MIDI); paid from EUR 11 per month plus VAT, billed annually (Standard) (AIVA pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary SaaS.
Best for: Instrumental and film-style scoring.
Compared with Suno: Has a free tier; check its pricing page for paid plans. A direct hosted rival to Suno for songs, so compare current limits and prices before switching.
Price: Free (Udio pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary SaaS.
Best for: Hosted song generation to compare directly.
Compared with Suno: Has a free plan; check the official pricing page for limits. Check licensing before you publish anything made on it.
Price: Free (Stable Audio pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary SaaS.
Best for: Short audio and loops, after checking terms.
Compared with Suno: No free plan; Creator is $16.99 per month ($11.04 on the annual toggle) with unlimited mp3 downloads and commercial use, where Suno Pro at $8 caps downloads at 20 a month.
Price: Paid from $11.04 per month, Creator, annual toggle price ($16.99 billed monthly; billing terms of the lower figure are not stated) (Soundraw pricing, checked 2026-10-25).
Docs-only for ACE-Step, MusicGen (AudioCraft), ElevenLabs, AIVA, Udio, Stable Audio: we did not install or run them, so feature claims come from vendor pages and we did not test import from Suno. Vendor prices and free limits change; confirm on the linked pricing page before you buy or migrate.
Kevin Fan is a SaaS founder. He runs Free Instead Of, which tracks free and open-source alternatives to paid software and checks each price and free-plan limit against the vendor's own pages.
Based on official pricing and product pages checked between 2026-10-22 and 2026-10-25: Suno, ACE-Step, MusicGen (AudioCraft), ElevenLabs, AIVA, Udio, Stable Audio, Soundraw. Prices, free limits and licenses are the figures shown on those pages on those dates. No tool on this page was installed or run. No accounts were created.