Stable Diffusion alternatives: Leonardo.Ai, Adobe Firefly, Ideogram, Gemini app and 1 more. Prices and licenses checked October 25, 2026.
•2 min read•Photo Editing & AI Images
Verdict:Stable Diffusion is free to download and run under the Stability AI Community License for individuals and organisations earning under USD 1 million a year, and above that Stability says to buy an Enterprise License at custom pricing. If it is not working for you, the reason is usually hardware or setup time rather than cost. Every alternative here is hosted, which removes the GPU requirement but also removes local control, fine-tuning on your own files and unlimited runs. Leonardo, Adobe Firefly and Ideogram all have free plans with daily or weekly allowances. Leonardo's vendor pricing page was blocked for us, and third-party reviews report 150 tokens a day, so check the number first. Firefly does not publish its free daily count. Ideogram's docs list 10 slow credits a week, up to 40 images. Gemini's free plan includes image generation and editing with a limit that refreshes every five hours, which suits occasional use. Midjourney has no free trial on the website, so it only makes sense if you will pay. The trade-off is simple: you give up ownership of the pipeline and the ability to run offline. If you generate a lot of images, stay with Stable Diffusion and fix the setup. If you generate a few per week, a free hosted plan is faster.
| Tool | Price | Platforms | Best for | Tested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Leonardo.Ai | Free (Free plan with a daily token allowance; check the pricing page for the current amount) | Web | Hosted generator without a GPU | Docs only |
| Adobe Firefly | Free (Free plan with daily generations across image, video and audio; Adobe does not state a number on the page); paid from $9.99 per month, Standard (2,000 generative credits, monthly billing; Pro $19.99, Pro Plus $49.99, Premium $199.99) | Web | Adobe users who want hosted output | Docs only |
| Ideogram | Free (Free plan: 10 slow credits a week, up to 40 images a week) | Web | Quick browser-based images | Docs only |
| Gemini app | Free (Free with a Google account); paid from $4.99 per month (Google AI Plus) | Web, iOS, Android | Images inside a chat assistant | Docs only |
| Midjourney | See pricing page | Web | Paid hosted generation | Docs only |
Independent comparison. Paid placements are labelled separately; editorial links earn no affiliate commissions. Learn more.
Stable Diffusion today: Free (Core models are free to download and use under the Community License for individuals and organisations with under USD 1M annual revenue) (Stable Diffusion pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Stable Diffusion's core models are free under Stability's Community License only for organisations with less than $1M in annual revenue; above that an Enterprise License with custom pricing is required. Researchers using the models for commercial purposes must register with Stability AI. The licence can be revoked if its terms are broken, and it bars using the models, their derivatives or outputs to create a competing foundational model, although LoRAs, hypernetworks and fine-tunes are allowed.
Compared with Stable Diffusion: Hosted image generator with a free plan that gives a daily token allowance, so no GPU is needed. You lose Stable Diffusion's local control and unlimited generation, and gain a browser workflow.
Price: Free (Free plan with a daily token allowance; check the pricing page for the current amount) (Leonardo.Ai pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Hosted generator without a GPU.
Compared with Stable Diffusion: Free plan with daily generations across image, video and audio, no hardware needed. You lose open weights and custom model setups, and gain Adobe's tools around it.
Price: Free (Free plan with daily generations across image, video and audio; Adobe does not state a number on the page); paid from $9.99 per month, Standard (2,000 generative credits, monthly billing; Pro $19.99, Pro Plus $49.99, Premium $199.99) (Adobe Firefly pricing, checked 2026-10-25).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Adobe users who want hosted output.
Compared with Stable Diffusion: Free plan with 10 slow credits a week, up to 40 images, per its docs. Far smaller than running Stable Diffusion locally, and everything is hosted, but easy to start with.
Price: Free (Free plan: 10 slow credits a week, up to 40 images a week) (Ideogram pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Quick browser-based images.
Compared with Stable Diffusion: Free plan lists image generation and editing, with a usage limit that refreshes every 5 hours. You lose Stable Diffusion's model control and gain a chat interface.
Price: Free (Free with a Google account); paid from $4.99 per month (Google AI Plus) (Gemini app pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web, iOS, Android. Proprietary.
Best for: Images inside a chat assistant.
Worth knowing: Google AI Pro is $19.99/month; Ultra starts at $99.99/month.
Compared with Stable Diffusion: Paid only, with no free trial on the website per a quote of its trial page. You lose Stable Diffusion's zero-cost local use, and pay for a hosted service with a distinct style.
Price: See pricing page (Midjourney pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Paid hosted generation.
Docs-only for Leonardo.Ai, Adobe Firefly, Ideogram, Gemini app, Midjourney: we did not install or run them, so feature claims come from vendor pages and we did not test import from Stable Diffusion. Vendor prices and free limits change; confirm on the linked pricing page before you buy or migrate.
Kevin Fan is a SaaS founder. He runs Free Instead Of, which tracks free and open-source alternatives to paid software and checks each price and free-plan limit against the vendor's own pages.
Based on official pricing and product pages checked between 2026-10-22 and 2026-10-25: Stable Diffusion, Leonardo.Ai, Adobe Firefly, Ideogram, Gemini app, Midjourney. Prices, free limits and licenses are the figures shown on those pages on those dates. No tool on this page was installed or run. No accounts were created.