Overleaf alternative picks for free use: Typst, TeXstudio, VS Code with LaTeX Workshop and self-hosted Overleaf, plus export steps if you use OpenAI Prism.
•4 min read•Office, Docs & Presentations
Verdict:For a free Overleaf alternative, use TeXstudio or VS Code with LaTeX Workshop for local LaTeX, Typst if you can leave LaTeX, or self-hosted Overleaf for a team you trust. Overleaf's paid plans remain the easiest way to co-write with people who do not use Git.
| Tool | Price | Platforms | Best for | Tested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TeXstudio | Free and open source (GPL v2) | Windows, macOS, Linux | A free desktop LaTeX editor with a built-in viewer, for solo writing with no collaborator limit | Docs only |
| VS Code with LaTeX Workshop | Free and open source (MIT) | Windows, macOS, Linux | Researchers who already use Git and want to compile LaTeX locally with no timeout | Docs only |
| Typst | Free web plan; Pro $7.99 per month; compiler open source (Apache-2.0) | Web, Windows, macOS, Linux | Writers who can leave LaTeX and want a free collaborative web editor or a local compiler | Docs only |
| Overleaf Community Edition | Free and open source (AGPL-3.0), self-hosted | Self-hosted | A lab or team that wants Overleaf's editor on its own server and trusts all users | Docs only |
| Overleaf Standard | $16.75 per month billed yearly ($199 a year), or $25 monthly | Web | Writers who need up to 10 collaborators per project and do not want to run anything themselves | Docs only |
Independent comparison. Paid placements are labelled separately; editorial links earn no affiliate commissions. Learn more.
Free alternatives to Overleaf split into three routes. TeXstudio and VS Code with LaTeX Workshop compile LaTeX on your own computer with no collaborator cap, Typst replaces LaTeX with a free web editor, and self-hosted Overleaf gives a team the same editor on its own server. OpenAI's Prism is set to shut down on January 1, 2027, so export those projects too.
According to Overleaf's pricing page, the free plan allows unlimited projects but one collaborator per project, five AI uses a day and a basic compile timeout. Standard raises that to 10 collaborators and 10 AI uses a day at $16.75 a month billed yearly, or $25 monthly. Pro removes the collaborator limit at $33.25 a month billed yearly.
Users in a January 2026 Hacker News thread on Prism praised Overleaf for real-time collaboration, comments, track changes, no local install and one shared LaTeX distribution. Complaints were price and the pain of self-hosting. Five criteria follow: free limits, collaboration with non-technical coauthors, moving projects in and out, offline control, and licence.
Prism's own site carries a shutdown notice that tells users to export their projects before the shutdown date. The shutdown date in that notice is January 1, 2027 (UTC). The notice says exports leave out comments, version history, collaborators and linked integrations, so save those separately if you need them.
OpenAI's migration article could not be opened, so Codex migration steps are not covered; confirm the date in your own Prism notice. Once exported, a .zip of LaTeX files can go to any pick below. Overleaf's upload help describes creating a project from a .zip, with at most 2,000 files per project, 180 per upload and 50 MB per file.
TeXstudio is an open-source LaTeX editor for desktop. Its site lists syntax highlighting, an integrated viewer and reference checking, and offers Windows, macOS and Linux downloads under GPL v2. It announced version 4.9.9 on October 23, 2026. Compiling happens on your machine, so Overleaf's collaborator and timeout limits do not apply.
You need a LaTeX distribution installed separately, and coauthors need their own copy or a shared Git repository. The site states no price and describes the software as free to use and modify.
Who should not pick it: anyone who needs real-time co-editing with people who will not install software.
LaTeX Workshop is a Visual Studio Code extension for writing LaTeX. According to its repository, it is MIT licensed and lists building LaTeX and BibTeX to PDF, automatic builds on save, a PDF viewer, SyncTeX navigation between source and PDF, citation autocomplete and a log parser. The repository shows about 12.4k stars.
A November 2025 Hacker News post shares a template using this setup with Git for a private, offline workflow. Its repository links the TeX distribution requirements to a wiki, so read that first.
Who should not pick it: coauthors uncomfortable with Git.
Typst is a markup-based typesetting system that its repository says is designed to be as powerful as LaTeX and easier to learn. The compiler is Apache-2.0 and installs with winget install --id Typst.Typst on Windows or brew install typst on macOS. The repository shows about 56.9k stars.
Typst's pricing page lists a free web plan with sharing and collaborating, community templates, LaTeX conversion, 200MB storage and 100 files per project. Pro costs $7.99 a month. Collaborator limits for the free plan are not stated.
Who should not pick it: authors submitting to venues that require LaTeX templates.
Overleaf publishes its editor as a self-hosted Community Edition. The repository shows an AGPL-3.0 licence, installation through the Overleaf Toolkit, and about 18.3k stars. It warns that Community Edition lacks sandboxed compiles and is meant only for environments where all users are trusted.
SSO, administration features and tracked changes belong to Server Pro. Running it means you maintain a server, which one Hacker News commenter called annoying but doable.
Who should not pick it: individuals without a server, or any group that has to host untrusted users.
Paying Overleaf makes sense when coauthors will not install LaTeX or use Git. Standard costs $16.75 a month billed yearly ($199 a year) or $25 monthly, with 10 collaborators per project. Pro costs $33.25 a month billed yearly ($399) or $45 monthly, with unlimited collaborators. Students pay $8.25 a month billed yearly ($98) or $13 monthly.
Typst Pro, at $7.99 a month, suits teams that have already moved off LaTeX. Stay free if you write alone, compile locally and share the finished PDF.
| TeXstudio | LaTeX Workshop | Typst | Overleaf CE | Overleaf Standard | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | Free | Free | Free web plan; Pro $7.99/mo | Free, self-hosted | $16.75/mo yearly |
| Licence | GPL v2 | MIT | Apache-2.0 compiler | AGPL-3.0 | Proprietary |
| Where it runs | Desktop | VS Code | Web or local | Your server | Web |
| Collaboration | Via Git | Via Git | Sharing on web | Real-time | Up to 10 per project |
| Uses LaTeX | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | Yes |
For other writing tools, see Google Docs alternatives and the free word processor list. Managing references? Try a free citation generator, and compare editors in our free code editor guide.
No tool was tested, so compile speed and package support are not compared. OpenAI's Prism migration article could not be opened, so the shutdown date comes from the notice on Prism's own site (read from the site's code, not the rendered page) and Codex migration steps are not stated here. Papeeria, MonsterWriter, LyX and Authorea were not checked on official pages. Overleaf's compile timeout in seconds is not stated on its pricing page.
For solo LaTeX, TeXstudio is free, GPL v2 and runs on Windows, macOS and Linux, per its site. For Git users, VS Code with the MIT-licensed LaTeX Workshop extension builds on save. If you can leave LaTeX, Typst has a free web plan with sharing and collaborating.
Partly. Overleaf's pricing page lists a free plan with unlimited projects, one collaborator per project, five AI uses per day and a basic compile timeout. Standard is $16.75 a month billed yearly, or $25 monthly, and allows 10 collaborators. Pro is $33.25 a month billed yearly.
Yes. Overleaf Community Edition is AGPL-3.0 and self-hosted. TeXstudio is GPL v2, LaTeX Workshop is MIT, and Typst's compiler is Apache-2.0. The Overleaf repository warns that Community Edition has no sandboxed compiles and suits only environments where all users are trusted.
Prism's site shows a shutdown notice dated January 1, 2027 that asks users to export their projects. The export leaves out comments, version history, collaborators and linked integrations. Overleaf accepts an uploaded .zip of LaTeX files, up to 2,000 files per project, and TeXstudio or VS Code with LaTeX Workshop open the same files locally.
A local setup does. TeXstudio and LaTeX Workshop are desktop software, so you open the exported project files and compile on your own machine. Both need a LaTeX distribution installed, and LaTeX Workshop points to its wiki for the requirements. Check that before you start.
Typst is a separate markup system, not LaTeX. Its pricing page lists a free plan with 200MB storage, 100 files per project, sharing and LaTeX conversion, and Pro at $7.99 a month. If a journal requires an Overleaf or LaTeX template, stay with LaTeX.
Kevin Fan is a SaaS founder. He runs Free Instead Of, which tracks free and open-source alternatives to paid software and checks each price and free-plan limit against the vendor's own pages.
Overleaf's pricing page and project upload help page, the Overleaf repository, Typst's pricing page and repository, TeXstudio's site, the LaTeX Workshop repository and Prism's site were read on 2026-10-28 (the pricing page and Prism code again on 2026-10-28 for verification). Two Hacker News threads from November 2025 and January 2026 and three competing articles were read for user language. Reddit was not used. No editor was installed or tested.