Otter.ai alternatives: Fathom, Fireflies.ai, Read AI, tl;dv and 1 more. Prices and licenses checked October 25, 2026.
•3 min read•Voice AI & Transcription
Verdict:Otter is a transcription service for meetings with a free Basic plan, and people leave it for a bigger free allowance, per-seat billing, or a different notetaker. Otter's free cap is 300 transcription minutes a month and 30 minutes per conversation, so a single long meeting hits the second limit first. Fathom's free plan has unlimited recordings and call summaries, though some features are limited, which makes it the strongest free swap for long or frequent calls. Fireflies also has a free plan, but its prices did not load for us, so compare its tiers on its own pricing page. Read AI's free plan covers five transcripts a month and meetings up to one hour, a tight budget that suits a few calls a week. tl;dv Pro is $18 per seat on annual billing, which fits a team that records many calls and needs a fixed seat count. Avoma has no free plan and starts after a 14-day trial at $19 per recorder seat. Choose by the limit you hit first: minutes, meeting length, or seats. If only the 30-minute cap is the problem, Otter Pro at $8.33 a month on annual billing is the cheapest step before switching.
| Tool | Price | Platforms | Best for | Tested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fathom | Free (unlimited recordings and call summaries; some features limited); paid from $15 per user/month, billed annually (Team, 2-user minimum) | Web browser | Long or frequent calls on a free plan | Docs only |
| Fireflies.ai | Free | Web browser | A second notetaker to compare against | Docs only |
| Read AI | Free (5 meeting transcripts per month, meetings up to 1 hour) | Web browser | A few calls a week | Docs only |
| tl;dv | Free; paid from EUR 18 per seat/month, billed annually (Pro; EUR 29 billed monthly) | Web browser | Team recording with highlights | Docs only |
| Avoma | Paid from $19 per recorder seat/month, billed annually (Startup; $29 monthly) | Web browser | Paid teams that want seat-based billing | Docs only |
| Granola | Free (Basic plan at $0 with limited meeting history (30 days per the comparison table)); paid from $14 per user/month, Business; billing term not stated | macOS, Windows, iOS | Meeting notes | Docs only |
| Circleback | Free (Free plan: 30-day meeting and recording history, limited automations, 2 teams); paid from $15 per user/month, billed annually (Pro; Business $25, Enterprise $35) | Web browser | AI meeting notes | Docs only |
Independent comparison. Paid placements are labelled separately; editorial links earn no affiliate commissions. Learn more.
Otter.ai today: Free (Basic: 300 monthly transcription minutes, 30 minutes per conversation); paid from $8.33 per user/month, billed annually (Pro; $16.99 monthly) (Otter.ai pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Otter's free Basic plan gives 300 transcription minutes a month, capped at 30 minutes per conversation, with only 3 lifetime imports and the 25 most recent conversations visible. Pro raises that to 1,200 minutes and 90 minutes per conversation at $16.99 a month ($8.33 annually), with 10 imports a month. Unlimited transcription needs Business at $30 per user ($19.99 annually). Basic exports are limited to MP3 and TXT.
Compared with Otter.ai: Free plan gives unlimited recordings and call summaries, with some features limited. Against Otter's 300 free minutes a month you gain volume and lose the features the free tier withholds. Team is $15 per user a month on annual billing.
Price: Free (unlimited recordings and call summaries; some features limited); paid from $15 per user/month, billed annually (Team, 2-user minimum) (Fathom pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web browser. Proprietary SaaS.
Best for: Long or frequent calls on a free plan.
Worth knowing: Monthly billing is $19 on Team.
Compared with Otter.ai: Free plan exists, but its limits and paid prices did not load in our check, so no figures are quoted here. Compared with Otter you gain a different notetaker and lose the Basic cap of 30 minutes per conversation that Otter sets.
Price: Free (Fireflies.ai pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web browser. Proprietary SaaS.
Best for: A second notetaker to compare against.
Compared with Otter.ai: Free plan covers five meeting transcripts a month, with meetings up to one hour. Against Otter's 300-minute free pool you get fewer, shorter recordings, and you keep a free start with no card needed to test the basics.
Price: Free (5 meeting transcripts per month, meetings up to 1 hour) (Read AI pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web browser. Proprietary SaaS.
Best for: A few calls a week.
Compared with Otter.ai: Free plan exists with no numbers shown on the page; Pro is $18 per seat a month on annual billing. Compared with Otter Pro at $8.33 you pay more per seat, and you get a per-seat recording model that suits teams.
Price: Free; paid from EUR 18 per seat/month, billed annually (Pro; EUR 29 billed monthly) (tl;dv pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web browser. Proprietary SaaS.
Best for: Team recording with highlights.
Compared with Otter.ai: No free plan, only a 14-day trial, then Startup at $19 per recorder seat a month on annual billing. Versus Otter you pay from the start with no free cap, and viewers are free, which can cut seat count for a team.
Price: Paid from $19 per recorder seat/month, billed annually (Startup; $29 monthly) (Avoma pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web browser. Proprietary SaaS.
Best for: Paid teams that want seat-based billing.
Worth knowing: 14-day trial; viewers are free.
Compared with Otter.ai: AI meeting notes app. A free Basic plan keeps 30 days of meeting history, and Business is $14 per user per month. Compare with Otter's lowest paid tier at $8.33.
Price: Free (Basic plan at $0 with limited meeting history (30 days per the comparison table)); paid from $14 per user/month, Business; billing term not stated (Granola pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Compared with Otter.ai: AI meeting notes with action items. Free keeps 30 days of history and 2 teams; Pro is $15 per user per month billed annually, with unlimited history and integrations such as Notion and HubSpot.
Price: Free (Free plan: 30-day meeting and recording history, limited automations, 2 teams); paid from $15 per user/month, billed annually (Pro; Business $25, Enterprise $35) (Circleback pricing, checked 2026-10-25).
Docs-only for Fathom, Fireflies.ai, Read AI, tl;dv, Avoma: we did not install or run them, so feature claims come from vendor pages and we did not test import from Otter.ai. Vendor prices and free limits change; confirm on the linked pricing page before you buy or migrate.
Kevin Fan is a SaaS founder. He runs Free Instead Of, which tracks free and open-source alternatives to paid software and checks each price and free-plan limit against the vendor's own pages.
Based on official pricing and product pages checked between 2026-10-22 and 2026-10-25: Otter.ai, Fathom, Fireflies.ai, Read AI, tl;dv, Avoma, Granola, Circleback. Prices, free limits and licenses are the figures shown on those pages on those dates. No tool on this page was installed or run. No accounts were created.