Leonardo.Ai alternatives: Stable Diffusion, Adobe Firefly, Ideogram, Gemini app and 1 more. Prices and licenses checked October 25, 2026.
•3 min read•Photo Editing & AI Images
Verdict:Leonardo's free plan is reported at 150 tokens a day, with paid tiers starting around $10 to $12 a month, so check the live pricing page before you rely on those numbers. Free generations are reported to be public and to carry no commercial rights, which is often the real reason people leave. If you need to keep images private or use them in work, read the terms of each alternative carefully. Stable Diffusion is the most flexible way out: the models are free to download under Stability's Community License for organisations under USD 1 million in revenue, and you can run them without a token meter. The cost is hardware and setup. Adobe Firefly and Ideogram are hosted tools with free plans; Ideogram's docs give a clear 10 slow credits a week, while Firefly does not state its daily number. Gemini's free plan covers image generation and editing and refreshes every five hours, which suits occasional use. Midjourney has no free trial on the website. The trade-off is that you give up Leonardo's all-in-one workspace for either a local tool you maintain or a smaller hosted allowance. For a few images a week, a free plan elsewhere is fine. For commercial output, verify the licence terms first.
| Tool | Price | Platforms | Best for | Tested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stable Diffusion | Free (Core models are free to download and use under the Community License for individuals and organisations with under USD 1M annual revenue) | Self-hosted model weights | Unlimited local generation | Docs only |
| Adobe Firefly | Free (Free plan with daily generations across image, video and audio; Adobe does not state a number on the page); paid from $9.99 per month, Standard (2,000 generative credits, monthly billing; Pro $19.99, Pro Plus $49.99, Premium $199.99) | Web | Adobe users | Docs only |
| Ideogram | Free (Free plan: 10 slow credits a week, up to 40 images a week) | Web | Clear weekly quota | Docs only |
| Gemini app | Free (Free with a Google account); paid from $4.99 per month (Google AI Plus) | Web, iOS, Android | Images inside a chat | Docs only |
| Midjourney | See pricing page | Web | Paid hosted style | Docs only |
| Krea | Free (Free plan: 100 units per day); paid from $5 per month (Basic, 5,000 units a month; promotional price shown next to a struck-through $9) | Web | AI image generation | Docs only |
Independent comparison. Paid placements are labelled separately; editorial links earn no affiliate commissions. Learn more.
Leonardo.Ai today: Free (Free plan with a daily token allowance; check the pricing page for the current amount) (Leonardo.Ai pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Nearly everything on Leonardo.Ai is paid for in tokens, and each model and feature has its own cost that also changes with image size, reference images and how many images you generate. Free users get 150 tokens a day, and unused tokens expire at the end of the day. Paid plans bank unused tokens for up to three months, but cancelling the plan cancels the whole bank. Top-up packs can only be bought and used with an active subscription, and a single Alchemy V2 image costs 16 tokens.
Compared with Leonardo.Ai: Free to download and run locally under the Community License below USD 1M revenue, so no token cap. You lose Leonardo's browser tools and need your own GPU and setup time.
Price: Free (Core models are free to download and use under the Community License for individuals and organisations with under USD 1M annual revenue) (Stable Diffusion pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Self-hosted model weights. Stability AI Community License (free below USD 1M annual revenue; Enterprise License at custom pricing above that).
Best for: Unlimited local generation.
Compared with Leonardo.Ai: Free plan with daily generations across image, video and audio. You lose Leonardo's model-training focus and gain Adobe integration; check Adobe's page for the current free number.
Price: Free (Free plan with daily generations across image, video and audio; Adobe does not state a number on the page); paid from $9.99 per month, Standard (2,000 generative credits, monthly billing; Pro $19.99, Pro Plus $49.99, Premium $199.99) (Adobe Firefly pricing, checked 2026-10-25).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Adobe users.
Compared with Leonardo.Ai: Free plan with 10 slow credits a week, up to 40 images, per its docs. Smaller than Leonardo's daily allowance reported at 150 tokens, but the number is clearly published.
Price: Free (Free plan: 10 slow credits a week, up to 40 images a week) (Ideogram pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Clear weekly quota.
Compared with Leonardo.Ai: Free plan lists image generation and editing, refreshing every five hours. You lose Leonardo's dedicated generation workspace and gain a chat assistant.
Price: Free (Free with a Google account); paid from $4.99 per month (Google AI Plus) (Gemini app pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web, iOS, Android. Proprietary.
Best for: Images inside a chat.
Worth knowing: Google AI Pro is $19.99/month; Ultra starts at $99.99/month.
Compared with Leonardo.Ai: Paid only, with no free trial on the website. Leonardo has a free tier; Midjourney needs a subscription, reported at $10 a month for Basic; check the vendor page.
Price: See pricing page (Midjourney pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Paid hosted style.
Compared with Leonardo.Ai: Free plan gives 100 units a day; Basic is listed at $5 a month (struck-through $9) and Pro at $21. Like Leonardo's token system it meters usage in credits, so compare what an image costs before choosing.
Price: Free (Free plan: 100 units per day); paid from $5 per month (Basic, 5,000 units a month; promotional price shown next to a struck-through $9) (Krea pricing, checked 2026-10-25).
Docs-only for Stable Diffusion, Adobe Firefly, Ideogram, Gemini app, Midjourney: we did not install or run them, so feature claims come from vendor pages and we did not test import from Leonardo.Ai. Vendor prices and free limits change; confirm on the linked pricing page before you buy or migrate.
Kevin Fan is a SaaS founder. He runs Free Instead Of, which tracks free and open-source alternatives to paid software and checks each price and free-plan limit against the vendor's own pages.
Based on official pricing and product pages checked between 2026-10-22 and 2026-10-25: Leonardo.Ai, Stable Diffusion, Adobe Firefly, Ideogram, Gemini app, Midjourney, Krea. Prices, free limits and licenses are the figures shown on those pages on those dates. No tool on this page was installed or run. No accounts were created.