Higgsfield alternatives with free-tier limits read from official pages: Google Flow, Kling, Hailuo, Runway, Pika, Luma, and Wan 2.2 to run locally.
•4 min read•Video Editing & AI Video
Verdict:For a free start, Google Flow (50 credits a day, no subscription) is the only cloud option here with a number we could confirm on an official page. Runway gives 125 one-time credits. Wan 2.2 is the free-forever route, but the 5B model wants a 24 GB GPU. Kling and Hailuo have free tiers whose amounts you must check in the app.
| Tool | Price | Platforms | Best for | Tested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Google Flow (Veo 3.1) | Free: 50 credits per day without a subscription | Web browser | Trying Veo-class video daily with no payment | Docs only |
| Kling AI | Free tier with limited credits; see pricing page for amounts | Web browser | Realistic motion from text or image prompts | Docs only |
| Hailuo AI (MiniMax) | Free users get a one-time welcome credit package per its terms; paid from $14.99/month (terms dated 2025-07-14) | Web browser | Quick image-to-video clips | Docs only |
| Runway | Free: 125 one-time credits; Standard $12/month billed annually ($15 monthly) | Web browser | Editing-style control and a no-watermark paid tier | Docs only |
| Wan 2.2 (local) | Free (Apache 2.0); you supply the GPU | Self-hosted | Unlimited local generation if you own a 24 GB or 80 GB GPU | Docs only |
| Pika | Free plan has no monthly credits (packs only); Starter $10/month | Web browser | Short stylised clips if you accept paying for credits | Docs only |
| Luma | No free plan listed; Plus $30/month ($25 billed yearly) | Web browser | Paid reference with commercial use on Plus | Docs only |
Independent comparison. Paid placements are labelled separately; editorial links earn no affiliate commissions. Learn more.
Short answer: if you want to try AI video without a subscription, start with Google Flow, which its help page says gives 50 credits a day to people without a Google AI plan. Runway gives 125 credits once. Wan 2.2 is the only option here with no usage meter, as long as you own a GPU with 24 GB of VRAM or more. Kling and Hailuo have free tiers, but their public pages did not show an amount we could quote.
How we ordered the tools: by how clearly the vendor's own page states a free allowance, then local, then paid references. We did not install or sign in to anything; every tool is untested. None of these products is ours.
Higgsfield bundles several third-party models under one credit plan. An article published on October 20, 2026 by AI Eating The World, which read Higgsfield's pricing page that day, lists Basic at $9 per month for 120 credits, Pro at $29 per month for 600 credits and Max at $79 per month for 1,800 credits. It says subscription credits do not roll over, and that "Unlimited" applies to selected models and, on some plans, to a seven-day window. We could not load Higgsfield's pricing page ourselves, so treat those figures as that article's reading.
Higgsfield's help centre states its refund rules: a request must come within seven days of the first purchase, with zero credits used, and renewals do not qualify. A service fee of up to 6% applies.
Beyond the rules, a MindStudio article describes user reports of stalled cancellations and credits deducted after cancelling, drawn from Discord and a complaints site, and it calls them allegations rather than verified findings. We have not checked any of this. If Higgsfield's mix of models is what you like, read the current terms before paying for a year.
Credit-based pricing is not unique to Higgsfield, though. Every cloud tool below also uses credits, so the useful comparison is the free allowance and the watermark rule.
Why it is first: Google's Flow help page says non-subscribers get 50 credits per day, unused credits do not roll over, and the refresh starts with your first generation. It lists Veo 3.1 Lite at 10 credits, Fast at 20 and Quality at 100, so the free allowance covers up to five Lite clips or two Fast clips a day, and never a Quality clip in one day.
Limits: the same page says free users may be unable to generate video during roughly 2 PM to 5 PM UTC, and 1080p upscaling is not available without a subscription. Google notes costs and limits can change.
Kling's free-plan page says it offers a free tier with limited credits and that paid plans add more. It does not state the amounts, and we found no clear official statement on watermarks for free output, so open the membership page in the app before you plan around it. Kling is the tool most often named in other Higgsfield alternative lists, mainly for realistic motion.
Hailuo's subscription terms, last updated July 14, 2025, say free users get a one-time welcome package of credits that expires three days after being granted, and that free downloads include a watermark. Paid plans start at $14.99 per month in those terms. The terms are over a year old, so see the live pricing page for current numbers.
Runway's pricing page lists a Free plan with 125 one-time credits that do not expire, and says "No watermarks" starts at the Standard plan, $12 per month billed annually or $15 monthly. It does not say whether free outputs carry a watermark, so assume they may.
What it is: open-weight video models from the Wan-Video project under the Apache 2.0 licence. The repository lists text-to-video and image-to-video models of 14B parameters per expert and a 5B text-and-image-to-video model at 720p, 24 fps.
Hardware: the README says the 5B model can run on a single GPU with at least 24 GB of VRAM, such as an RTX 4090, using its offload options. The 14B models need at least 80 GB on a single GPU. We did not run it; see the repository for current instructions. For video work after generation, our CapCut alternatives guide covers free editors, and After Effects alternatives covers motion graphics.
Pika's pricing page currently lists a Free plan with no monthly credits, only purchasable packs, and Starter at $10 per month. Luma's pricing page lists Plus at $30 per month ($25 billed yearly), with 10,000 credits and commercial use, and no free plan. We include both because they come up in other roundups, but neither is a free route.
For a daily no-cost try: Google Flow. For a one-off test of Runway's editing tools: its 125 credits. For no meter at all: Wan 2.2 on a rented or owned big GPU. For everything else, check the free amount inside the app, because those numbers change faster than vendor pages.
We read each vendor's pricing or help page on October 21, 2026 and wrote down only numbers that appeared there. Where a page showed none, we say to see the pricing page. We did not create accounts, run generations or install software, so we make no claims about output quality or speed.
No tool was installed or tested, and no account was created. Kling's and Hailuo's free-credit amounts were not visible on their public pages and are left out. Runway's page did not state whether free outputs are watermarked. Complaint reports about Higgsfield come from third-party articles and are unverified.
Google Flow lists 50 free credits per day for people without a Google AI subscription, and Runway lists 125 one-time free credits. Wan 2.2 is free software but needs your own GPU.
Third-party articles report complaints about credit costs, how the Unlimited option works and how cancellations and refunds are handled. These are reports, not findings we verified. Check Higgsfield's pricing page and terms yourself.
Wan 2.2's repository says its 5B text-and-image-to-video model runs on a GPU with at least 24 GB of VRAM, and its 14B models on at least 80 GB. Most laptops fall short.
Hailuo's terms say downloads from free users include a watermark. Pika's current pricing page lists no watermark on its free plan, but that plan has no monthly credits. Check each tool before publishing client work.
We did not run or review the data terms of any of these tools. The cloud generators process your prompts and uploads on their servers; read each privacy policy first. Wan 2.2 runs on your own machine.
Official pricing and help pages were read on October 21, 2026. Credit plans change often, so confirm the number in the app before you rely on it.
Kevin Fan is a SaaS founder. He runs Free Instead Of, which tracks free and open-source alternatives to paid software and checks each price and free-plan limit against the vendor's own pages.
Based on official docs and pricing pages checked 2026-10-21. No tool on this page was installed or signed in to; every tool is marked untested. Allowances were read from vendor pricing and help pages where those pages showed a number; where a page did not show one, this article says to see the pricing page. Higgsfield's own pricing page did not render in our fetch, so Higgsfield plan details are attributed to a third-party article that read that page on 2026-10-20 and to Higgsfield's help centre.