Best free SSL Certificates compared: Let's Encrypt, ZeroSSL, Certbot, acme.sh and 2 more, with free-plan limits, platforms and prices from official pages checked October 23, 2026.
•3 min read•Web Hosting & Cloud Platforms
| Tool | Price | Platforms | Best for | Tested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Let's Encrypt | Free (Free certificates for anyone who owns a domain name; run by the nonprofit ISRG) | Any server with an ACME client | Almost any website | Docs only |
| ZeroSSL | Free (Free plan: 3 90-day certificates; ACME and wildcard listed as Free features, wildcard quantity not stated); paid from $14.99 per month, billed yearly (Basic) | Web dashboard, ACME | Users who want a dashboard as well as ACME | Docs only |
| Certbot | Free (Free open-source software) | Linux, macOS, Windows | Servers where you want automated renewal | Docs only |
| acme.sh | Free (Free open-source software) | Unix shell | Minimal servers and scripts | Docs only |
| Caddy | Free (Free open-source software) | Linux, macOS, Windows, BSD | New sites where you can choose the server | Docs only |
| Cloudflare | Free (Free plan: DNS, unmetered DDoS protection, CDN, universal SSL, WAF managed ruleset); paid from $20 per month, billed annually (Pro; $25 billed monthly) | Web | Sites that want a certificate without managing one | Docs only |
Independent comparison. Paid placements are labelled separately; editorial links earn no affiliate commissions. Learn more.
Free SSL certificates are widely available, and for most sites they are as good as paid ones for encrypting traffic. Let's Encrypt, run by the nonprofit Internet Security Research Group, offers certificates at zero cost to anyone who owns a domain name. ZeroSSL has a free plan with three 90-day certificates and ACME support, with paid plans from $14.99 a month. Most people do not request certificates by hand; they use an ACME client. Certbot from the Electronic Frontier Foundation is the usual choice, acme.sh is a pure Unix shell alternative with few dependencies, and Caddy gets and renews certificates automatically as a web server. Cloudflare's free plan includes universal SSL if you put your site behind it, which solves certificates for visitors without managing any yourself. The trade-offs are short lifetimes and what a free certificate does not give you. Free certificates are 90 days long, so automated renewal is not optional. They prove control of a domain, not the identity of the business, so if you need a warranty or organization validation, you must pay. Test renewal in a staging environment before relying on it, and set an alert for expiry in case the automation fails.
Free certificates for anyone who owns a domain name, run by the nonprofit ISRG. The default choice for most websites; certificates are short-lived and need automated renewal.
Price: Free (Free certificates for anyone who owns a domain name; run by the nonprofit ISRG) (Let's Encrypt pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Any server with an ACME client. Service (free CA).
Best for: Almost any website.
Free plan includes 3 90-day certificates, with ACME and wildcard listed as free features. Paid Basic is $14.99 a month billed yearly. Has a web dashboard if you dislike command lines.
Price: Free (Free plan: 3 90-day certificates; ACME and wildcard listed as Free features, wildcard quantity not stated); paid from $14.99 per month, billed yearly (Basic) (ZeroSSL pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Web dashboard, ACME. Proprietary SaaS.
Best for: Users who want a dashboard as well as ACME.
Apache-2.0 ACME client from the EFF. Free; automates getting and renewing certificates on a server you control, with plugins for common web servers.
Price: Free (Free open-source software) (Certbot pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Linux, macOS, Windows. Apache-2.0 (open source).
Project activity: 33.3k GitHub stars · latest release v5.8.0 (Sep 1, 2026) · last commit Oct 27, 2026
Best for: Servers where you want automated renewal.
Worth knowing: Licence read from LICENSE.txt. Certbot itself is free; the certificate authority it uses sets its own terms.
GPL-3.0 pure Unix shell ACME client. Light on dependencies and runs almost anywhere with a shell; fewer guardrails than Certbot.
Price: Free (Free open-source software) (acme.sh pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Unix shell. GPL-3.0 (open source).
Project activity: 47.9k GitHub stars · latest release 3.1.6 (Sep 20, 2026) · last commit Oct 23, 2026
Best for: Minimal servers and scripts.
Worth knowing: Pure Unix shell ACME client per the repo description.
Apache-2.0 web server with automatic HTTPS per the repo description. Certificates are handled without extra tools, though you must use Caddy as your web server.
Price: Free (Free open-source software) (Caddy pricing, checked 2026-10-23).
Platforms and license: Linux, macOS, Windows, BSD. Apache-2.0 (open source).
Project activity: 78.5k GitHub stars · latest release v2.11.7 (Oct 3, 2026) · last commit Oct 27, 2026
Best for: New sites where you can choose the server.
Worth knowing: Web server with automatic HTTPS per the repo description.
Free plan includes universal SSL along with DNS, DDoS protection and CDN; Pro is $20 a month billed annually. Requires routing your traffic through Cloudflare.
Price: Free (Free plan: DNS, unmetered DDoS protection, CDN, universal SSL, WAF managed ruleset); paid from $20 per month, billed annually (Pro; $25 billed monthly) (Cloudflare pricing, checked 2026-10-22).
Platforms and license: Web. Proprietary.
Best for: Sites that want a certificate without managing one.
Worth knowing: Business plan is $200/month billed annually ($250 monthly). Free plan has community support only and no uptime SLA.
Compare: Cloudflare alternatives
Docs-only for Let's Encrypt, ZeroSSL, Certbot, acme.sh, Caddy, Cloudflare: we did not install or run them, so feature claims come from vendor pages. Vendor prices and free limits change; confirm on the linked pricing page before you commit.
Kevin Fan is a SaaS founder. He runs Free Instead Of, which tracks free and open-source alternatives to paid software and checks each price and free-plan limit against the vendor's own pages.
Based on official pricing, license and product pages checked between 2026-10-22 and 2026-10-23: Let's Encrypt, ZeroSSL, Certbot, acme.sh, Caddy, Cloudflare. Prices, free limits and licenses are the figures shown on those pages on those dates. No tool on this page was installed or run. No accounts were created.