Best free Partition Managers compared: Windows Disk Management, GParted, KDE Partition Manager, AOMEI Partition Assistant and 2 more, with free-plan limits, platforms and prices from official pages checked October 24, 2026.
•3 min read•Browsers & System Utilities
| Tool | Price | Platforms | Best for | Tested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Windows Disk Management | Free (Built-in Windows utility; the page states no price) | Windows | Simple resizing with nothing to install | Docs only |
| GParted | Free (Free software, no payment needed) | Boots from GParted Live (x86-64) on Linux, Windows or Mac OS X machines, Runs inside Linux | The most trusted free tool | Docs only |
| KDE Partition Manager | Free (KDE application; the page shows no price and links to the source code) | Linux | KDE desktop users | Docs only |
| AOMEI Partition Assistant | Free (Standard edition is free for personal and home use: resize, move, create, merge, format, copy and clone data partitions, MBR/GPT and NTFS/FAT32 conversion); paid from $49.95 per one license for 2 PCs, Professional | Windows 7-11, Windows ARM64 | Feature-rich Windows partitioning | Docs only |
| EaseUS Partition Master | Free (Free edition ('free forever'): resize, move, extend, create, delete, merge, format and wipe partitions, partition clone, MBR/GPT and NTFS/FAT32 conversion); paid from $19.95 per Pro, shown as a 'Hot Sale' price (billing period not stated) | Windows 7-11, Windows Vista | A simple Windows wizard | Docs only |
| MiniTool Partition Wizard | Free (Free Edition: move, resize, extend, merge, split, create, delete, format and wipe partitions, plus file system check and surface test; exact free-versus-paid feature split was not readable); paid from $59 per year, Pro for 1 PC (Pro Platinum $109 per year for 3 PCs; Pro Ultimate $159 perpetual for 5 PCs) | Windows 7-11 | Windows users who want disk analysis tools | Docs only |
Independent comparison. Paid placements are labelled separately; editorial links earn no affiliate commissions. Learn more.
Partition managers resize, move, merge and format the sections of a disk, and the free options fall into built-in, open-source and freemium groups. Windows Disk Management is already on your computer and can initialize disks, shrink and extend basic volumes and change drive letters, but it cannot move a partition, which is why people look elsewhere. GParted is the open-source standard on Linux and also boots from a live USB on Windows or Mac hardware, handling a long list of file systems. KDE Partition Manager is the Linux desktop equivalent. On Windows, MiniTool Partition Wizard, AOMEI Partition Assistant Standard and EaseUS Partition Master all have free editions covering the everyday jobs of moving, resizing, merging and converting between MBR and GPT, with paid editions adding things like system migration and recovery. The trade-off is risk versus convenience. Any partition change can lose data if power fails midway, and the freemium tools nudge you toward paid versions with feature gates that the comparison tables do not always make clear. Back up first, use a laptop on mains power or a UPS, and apply one operation at a time rather than queueing several resizes.
Built into Windows with no price stated. Initialize disks, extend and shrink basic volumes and change drive letters; it does not move partitions.
Price: Free (Built-in Windows utility; the page states no price) (Windows Disk Management pricing, checked 2026-10-24).
Platforms and license: Windows. Proprietary (part of Windows).
Best for: Simple resizing with nothing to install.
GPL-2.0 or later and free. Resizes, moves, copies and checks partitions on many file systems, and boots from a live ISO on x86-64 Linux, Windows or Mac hardware with 1 GB RAM for all features.
Price: Free (Free software, no payment needed) (GParted pricing, checked 2026-10-24).
Platforms and license: Boots from GParted Live (x86-64) on Linux, Windows or Mac OS X machines, Runs inside Linux. GPL-2.0 or later (open source).
Best for: The most trusted free tool.
GPL-3.0 or later, Linux only. Creates, copies, moves, deletes, backs up, restores and resizes partitions on ext2/3/4, btrfs, NTFS, FAT16/32, JFS and XFS.
Price: Free (KDE application; the page shows no price and links to the source code) (KDE Partition Manager pricing, checked 2026-10-24).
Platforms and license: Linux. GPL-3.0 or later (open source).
Best for: KDE desktop users.
Standard edition is free for personal use: resize, move, merge, convert MBR and GPT, clone data disks and wipe. Professional is $49.95 for 2 PCs; Windows 7 to 11.
Price: Free (Standard edition is free for personal and home use: resize, move, create, merge, format, copy and clone data partitions, MBR/GPT and NTFS/FAT32 conversion); paid from $49.95 per one license for 2 PCs, Professional (AOMEI Partition Assistant pricing, checked 2026-10-24).
Platforms and license: Windows 7-11, Windows ARM64. Proprietary freeware (Standard) with paid editions.
Best for: Feature-rich Windows partitioning.
Free edition lists resize, move, extend, merge, partition clone and MBR/GPT conversion. Check the vendor's edition comparison for the paid split. Pro is listed at $19.95.
Price: Free (Free edition ('free forever'): resize, move, extend, create, delete, merge, format and wipe partitions, partition clone, MBR/GPT and NTFS/FAT32 conversion); paid from $19.95 per Pro, shown as a 'Hot Sale' price (billing period not stated) (EaseUS Partition Master pricing, checked 2026-10-24).
Platforms and license: Windows 7-11, Windows Vista. Proprietary freemium.
Best for: A simple Windows wizard.
Free Edition covers move, resize, extend, merge, split, format and wipe. Pro is $59 a year per PC; check the vendor's edition comparison for paid-only features.
Price: Free (Free Edition: move, resize, extend, merge, split, create, delete, format and wipe partitions, plus file system check and surface test; exact free-versus-paid feature split was not readable); paid from $59 per year, Pro for 1 PC (Pro Platinum $109 per year for 3 PCs; Pro Ultimate $159 perpetual for 5 PCs) (MiniTool Partition Wizard pricing, checked 2026-10-24).
Platforms and license: Windows 7-11. Proprietary freemium.
Best for: Windows users who want disk analysis tools.
Docs-only for Windows Disk Management, GParted, KDE Partition Manager, AOMEI Partition Assistant, EaseUS Partition Master, MiniTool Partition Wizard: we did not install or run them, so feature claims come from vendor pages. Vendor prices and free limits change; confirm on the linked pricing page before you commit.
Kevin Fan is a SaaS founder. He runs Free Instead Of, which tracks free and open-source alternatives to paid software and checks each price and free-plan limit against the vendor's own pages.
Based on official pricing, license and product pages checked 2026-10-24: Windows Disk Management, GParted, KDE Partition Manager, AOMEI Partition Assistant, EaseUS Partition Master, MiniTool Partition Wizard. Prices, free limits and licenses are the figures shown on those pages on those dates. No tool on this page was installed or run. No accounts were created.